Fitness Friday: My New Training Partner

February 25, 2011 at 1:15 pm 4 comments

This is my new friend.

It tells me what I want to know (when I am not hitting the wrong button and changing inadvertently to and from metric) and tells me the cold hard truth.

I have yet to use the heart rate monitor; I'm still working on the basic features

It is motivating.

Not my times but you get the idea

It is a discontinued shade of green so it was on sale.

It is going to make me run fast (at least for me!).


Maybe not quite this fast

Running Rundown

Everything is posted in kilometers and will be from here on in. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 15 km outside in the cold on the ice with Elation Centre Run Club –  5:50 per km pace. Felt really good physically and was pleased to have others to run with as there is no way I would have attempted this run outdoors without a group.

Monday – 10 km easy run in the freezing cold -30C with the wind. 5:2o per km – went a little faster than I had planned because of the cold. Definitely coldest run ever, but really wasn’t that bad. Who knew?

Wednesday – 11.2 km speed run on the treadmill – same workout as last week – 1 km at 5:35 per km (warm-up); 7 repeats of 1 km at 4:45 per km followed by 2 minutes rest at 6:00 per km; 2 km cool-down at 5:50 per km pace. Much better than last week. Still had to slow down twice, but overall much stronger.

Strength Training Stats

Monday: Family Day. Studio closed. Instead we lifted and lugged gear and children in and out of the swimming pool.

Wednesday:  Oops – skipped this one.

Thursday: Noon hour yoga class. There were parts of the class that could be considered strength, right?

Friday:  Heavier weight training workout with Matthieu. Interested in this workout? I’ll post a sample next week. It is heavy, slower than I’m used to, and leaves me shaky until I refuel. It is also helping me to build muscle to get stronger and faster. Derek is concerned I may start to look like Tonya Harding; I do not understand this reference… I am about 7 inches taller than her and have brown hair and dark features.

Do you see a resemblance?

I showed him this comparison and he mentioned something about her looking very lean and muscular in her sex tape. I turned my ears off at that point.

Have a great weekend!

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , , .

A Fear Realized Thoughts One Year Later

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  February 25, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    hi Liisa: check out this artilce by Mark Allen on heart rate training http://www.markallenonline.com/maoArticles.aspx?AID=2

    have fun with your new toy

    Reply
  • 3. Stefania (Ingredients for Life)  |  February 28, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    That’s not Tonya Harding! It can’t be. Does she really look like that? What happened?!
    Giggled at Derek’s comment about the tape.

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  March 1, 2011 at 12:41 am

      I know. That’s what I said when I first googled to try to find a pic of her. There were two distinct sets online, those from her Olympic days and those of her more recently as a boxer.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


