Thoughts One Year Later

February 28, 2011 at 3:46 pm 5 comments

A year ago Fit For a Kid was born. I had no idea about the why, what, how, or when of blogging (I got the where part: right here). I still don’t. But I keep at it, without a purpose, just for fun.

I found it interesting to look back at my first few posts, and compare where I am now to where I was then.

  • Lil D’s eating habits: Lil D’s diet no longer concerns me. He eats only when he is truly hungry, prefers vegetables and fruit to sweets, and will usually try almost anything (or at least touch it to his lips). Nowadays it’s Lil C who takes up this particular space in my head.
  • Toilet-training: Done!
  • “Pure Parenting”: No comment. Still flabbergasted.
  • Immunization: While I no longer do paid work as an immunization educator, I do continue to advocate for immunization locally and globally. Did you see this: if you were at one of four major U.S. airports in the last day or two, you may have been exposed to measles. I was not immune to measles until recently; actually, I don’t know if I’m immune, I just know I was vaccinated. That would have been fun.
  • An Olympics-themed craft: The boys still talk about the Olympics. My bro and sis-in-law live in London. We’re considering cramming into their place for the 2012 Games. Anyone ever been to the Olympics? Was it worthwhile?
  • Breakfast cookies: Just finished eating a Bridgehead granola cookie for breakfast, but I haven’t made this recipe in awhile. I think it’s time.
  • Skiing: Last year, there was only one set of little ski equipment in the house. Now we have two. Yesterday, I watched with glee as Lil D led Lil C down the hill in a series of lovely turns.

If nothing else, I love that this blog has become an online journal and a way to keep in touch with family and friends, old and new, and making new friends, online and offline. I look forward to looking back in another year.

Oh, one last thing: Today also marks the end of my second month participating in the Post a Day 2011 challenge! I have posted every work day for two months now.

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, In the news. Tags: , , , .

Fitness Friday: My New Training Partner Style Tuesday: Requisite Oscar Fashion Recap

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Delanie  |  February 28, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!

    I just wanted to say how much I appreciate your blog. I always look forward to reading your posts and all of the topics different topics you cover. Your stories are totally relatable and realistic. Your fashion posts are always a favorite. I’m curious to know which purse you chose to buy after losing your keys? I just bought my spring/summer purse this past weekend which I think brought on this snow storm just to remind me that we’re not quite there yet!
    Anyways, keep up the great work!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  March 1, 2011 at 12:43 am

      Thanks Delanie. Your words are very encouraging. I’ll include a pic of the new purse in tomorrow’s “Style Tuesday” post (which was a surprise gift from my husband a few days after that key losing story post).

      Reply
  • 3. Tracey  |  February 28, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    I love the blog too, Lisa! I love the ideas and the tips-I esp loved/love hearing your Grandmother’s life story. I hope you continue writing-I’ll continue reading! (and I should really comment more! Because I DO read each post!)

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  March 1, 2011 at 12:41 am

      Thanks for reading Tracey!

      Reply
  • 5. Tracey  |  February 28, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Ugh. And I know it’s LIISA. Typed too fast! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


