Style Tuesday: Requisite Oscar Fashion Recap

March 1, 2011 at 2:52 pm 7 comments

I don’t like watching the Oscars. I can’t bear the thought of three hours of my life wasted listening to bland acceptance speeches. I do however like knowing who wins in the five big categories, especially in a year like this one when I’ve seen many of the nominated movies. Of course, I also like to look through the photos of who wore what, and how they wore it (I find the hair and accessories can be just as interesting).

So, after the winners were announced on Sunday evening, here are the two categories where I don’t like the outcome.

Best Picture

I saw 7 of the 10 nominees. I did not think the King’s Speech was best, in fact it was third or fourth on my list. My top pick was The Fighter.

Actress in a Leading Role

Of the two movies I saw in this category, I thought Michelle Williams was superior to Natalie Portman. Natalie Portman had to transform herself for the role, but Michelle Williams had to play a woman at two very distinct points in time, showing the transformation on screen. She was ultra-believable and it didn’t feel like she was acting. In fact, the movie was super-depressing as a result.

Now onto the good stuff. I’m no fashion critic, so let’s call this section, What Would Liisa Wear?

Definitely my favourite

This is not really me, though I love her hair and make-up

Nah. Not me either. And icky oversprayed hair.

I love the colour, but not the dress, and her hair is pretty.

Yup. I'd wear this.

Love this, though the colour might not work with my skin tone

Not a chance

Yes, but in another five years at least. I think the hair, make-up and accessories really make the look.

Amazing dress. I would try it, though I'm not sure it would work. The earrings look old-lady to me.

I thought Sharon Stone looked great (though maybe a little scary), Celine Dion looked ultra-elegant, Jennifer Hudson looked bold, and Scarlett Johansson looked pretty though her dress was horrible (except for the colour, which was gorgeous).

There you have it. You can now go about the rest of your day armed with this knowledge. But before you go, feel free to let me know your favourites. Anyone surprise you? And would you wear these looks?

Entry filed under: Fashion, Style. Tags: , , .

Thoughts One Year Later Style Tuesday: Another Quick Update

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia  |  March 1, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I didn’t see a single one of these movies this year. I’m now on a mission to see them all! I too, don’t typically watch the awards but I watch the red carpet! Jennifer Hudson looked fierce and I loved Anne Hathaway’s red dress. A few of her other choices on stage were terrible. I also really liked Natalie Portman’s look. She was glowing.

    Reply
  • 2. Redhead  |  March 1, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    I think my two favorite dresses were Amy Adams and Reese Witherspoons. Simple and elegant statement peices.

    must talk about Scarlett Johannsen! i loved the dress, but what was up with her hair?? she looked like she just got out of bed! Maybe Matthew McCaughnehy would only present if his presenting partner looked bad?

    Nicole Kidman – I love the top of the dress, but I don’t understand the bottom. Cate Blanchett – I don’t understand any of that outfit. Looks like it’s off Project Runway. Gwenyth Paltrow looked like a science fiction character, but she pulled it off because she was so confident.

    Reply
  • 3. Stefania (Ingredients for Life)  |  March 1, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    So many beautiful dresses. I agree with your choices. No one looked awful. Not even Helena Bonham Carter! Sad that so many men chose not to shave for such an important event. Expensive suits but day-old beards. Not attractive.

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  March 2, 2011 at 3:17 am

      Yeah – not a fan of the stubble-face either.

      Reply
  • 5. Lynn  |  March 2, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    I used to be fanatical about seeing all the best picture nominees before the show, but since we had kids that’s gone out the window – most years I’m lucky if I’ve seen one. This year I decided to go back to the old ways and managed to see seven of the 10 nominees. It really makes watching the show much more interesting when you’ve seen several of the films.

    Unfortunately, one that I didn’t see was The King’s Speech…guess that will have to wait for DVD. Of the ones I did see, my favourite was 127 Hours, and I also loved Inception, The Fighter, and The Social Network. I was very invested in seeing Christian Bale and Melissa Leo win, so I was happy there, and I was really pleased to see Aaron Sorkin win, too.

    As for the outfits, I agree that Gwyneth looked AMAZING. I thought hers was the dress of the evening. I have been surprised to see it listed as a “fail” on a few analysis blogs, though. WTF??? I wasn’t a fan of all the red this year…I think my second favourite was Marisa Tomei’s because I loved the colour so much. I also thought Mila Kunis looked fabulous – not sure I would feel comfortable in that dress myself, but she did really pull it off.

    Reply
    • 6. fitforakid  |  March 3, 2011 at 2:25 pm

      Had to do a quick search cause I hadn’t seen Marisa Tomei’s dress- the colour is gorgeous! I love the bottom, but I do not like the top at all. And I’m not a fan of her hair. But I do love her in general.

      Reply
  • 7. MHZ  |  March 3, 2011 at 3:19 am

    I didn’t watch the Oscar’s and I don’t think I saw one movie (actually I saw Social Network) but figured i didn’t need to do either to comment on a couple outfits. So – Gwenyth gets first prize for me too. Loved her hair, dress, the whole look was perfect. I wasn’t crazy about Reese Witherspon’s dress but loved her hair. Very fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


