Curry in a Hurry

March 10, 2011 at 11:35 am 6 comments

For the most part, when I plan dinners, I think about what the kids and Derek are going to eat. I’ll then plan to eat bits and pieces (the non-meat stuff) and a salad with some sort of protein thrown in. Essentially, my dinners are often an afterthought.

So yesterday, I made this meal just for me. It helps that it took about 10 minutes of prep time. I knew before I made it that I would be the only one in my family who would eat it, but my friend Jenn says her whole family including her two preschool-age sons loved it.

So what if my picky crew that doesn’t want to sample this delight? It was delicious and I’ll make it again! In fact, I think many different vegetables would work. Next time I may go with spinach instead of eggplant and turnip instead of sweet potato.

I adapted this recipe for my slow cooker. I think I am falling in love with that little kitchen appliance. I can do the work in the morning or early afternoon, and it’s hot and ready at dinner. I don’t have to worry about reheating, watching it, etc.

Chickpea Tomato Curry in the Slow Cooker

Makes 3 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil or coconut butter (I used olive oil)
  • 1/2 large onion peeled and coarsely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 2 tbsp fresh ginger, grated (I was out so I used 1 tsp ground ginger)
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp red chili powder or hot paprika or a shake of hot pepper sauce
  • 1 14-ounce can (or half a large can) of diced tomatoes, or 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 19-ounce can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup broccoli florets
  • 1 cup diced sweet potato
  • 2 cups eggplant (I used one Chinese eggplant – you know the skinny ones?)
  • 3/4 c coconut milk (add to your desired taste) (added just before serving)
  • 1 heaped tbsp chopped fresh coriander leaves (optional) – was sad that I didn’t have this ingredient on hand

Directions

  1. Throw oil and onion in the pot on high for a minute or two to heat up while you’re getting out all the rest of the ingredients.
  2. Stir in the garlic, ginger and spices, the tomatoes, the chickpeas, and the rest of the vegetables
  3. If making in the afternoon, cook on high for a couple of hours and then turn to low setting. Or, if preparing first thing in the morning,  you could set on low to serve at dinner.
  4. Before serving, stir in coconut milk and heat through (about 1 minute).
  5. Add salt to taste (you may need slightly more than usual).
  6. Garnish with fresh cilantro

You could serve this with brown rice or whole wheat pita/tortilla. I enjoyed it just as it is.

Nutrition Facts

Total Calories 404, carbohydrates 57 g, fat 17 g, protein 13 g


 

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Nanny A’s Story: “I Ate Well on that Farm” Fitness Friday: “I Really Want to Be a Hockey Player” and Other Bedtime Stories

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. My Grandparent's Kitchen  |  March 10, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    If God had intended us to follow recipes,
    He wouldn’t have given us grandmothers.
    ~Linda Henley

    Reply
  • 2. Jenn Beyak  |  March 10, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Glad you liked this recipe originally posted on Elation Centre’s web site. A small tip re: ginger. It freezes very well and then grates very easily right out of the freezer. Also, you will love it even more with some fresh cilantro on top!! This is the meal Dylan wanted (and got) for his birthday last night. Both kids gobbled it up!

    Reply
  • 3. Donna  |  March 10, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    What a great idea to make this in the slow cooker. So happy you liked the Curry, it’s become one of the favorite Elation Centre recipes!

    Reply
  • 4. fitforakid  |  March 10, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Thanks Donna and Jenn for your comments and for the recipe!!

    Reply
  • 5. Finola  |  March 13, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Sounds great!

    Reply
  • 6. Stefanie Couture  |  March 23, 2011 at 1:24 am

    Sounds delicious! Just bought an eggplant today and plan to cook it up in the next couple of days. Last year I did a “10 day cleanse” with Donna and she gave us a sweet potato and coconut milk soup recipe that was to die for…so yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


