March Break

March 18, 2011 at 12:46 am 1 comment

Lil D has been at sports camp this week. The child has never been happier. He comes home with a smile on his face every day. He loves structure. When he is presented with too many choices, he second guesses himself. For example, if I give him ideas of a few things to play with at home, he eventually selects one and plays, but then when he is done, he wishes he still had time to do the other choices and he gets frustrated.

For this reason (I think) and because he is quite social when he is among his peers, he loves going to school. He gets excited on Sundays because the next day is a school day. And he loves going to camp. When we were on vacation in Mexico, he wanted to go to the children’s program. We had to limit it to a couple of hours and even then not every day, because we wanted to spend time with him.

Lil C is the more lackadaisical brother. Every morning he hopes it’s not a school day because he is not allowed to watch TV in the morning on school days. I signed him up for March Break gymnastics camp around the corner from our house. It’s 2.5 hours and he loves it. I originally only had him going three days but he insisted that he go “every day!”. He practices his somersault all over the house and I am forced to compare tuck jumps and splits with him at regular intervals throughout the day (he is easy-going in many ways, but still as competitive as his brother).

He also gets a ton of downtime this week which he enjoys. He is happy to follow me around as I get dressed, sweep up the breakfast crumbs, go to the grocery store, or stop in at the pharmacy. He just bounces along beside me making up silly words or spelling every sign he spots.

Here is some evidence of our fun one-on-one time:

He swept out every last crumb from under the table

He hammed it up for me with the best loop bag toy ever

He wanted a laugh so he made me put on the glasses

He tried his first ever peanut butter cookie (his brother is allergic); here he contemplates the flavour and texture

He ate a little less than half and then declared he did not like it. Perfect!

For me, March Break is more hectic than a regular week. I am still doing my work, blogging, and trying to get my usual workouts in but I’ve got my fun Lil C with me most of the time. My mom took him to the Museum of Nature one morning and that helped keep my week on track work-wise, but my workouts have suffered a bit.

Though the kids’ March Break ends on Monday (Lil D said he can’t wait), I think my March Break begins Saturday when I head to Toronto to spend time with my friend and then continues when I come back Sunday to the eve of a regular week of school.

I’ve had a great time with Lil C, and Lil D has had a great week too, but I won’t be sorry when we get back to our beloved routine.

So, March Break – love it or hate it? For those of you with older children, does it change over time? Oh, and I’m not talking about you guys who are on vacation on sunny beaches either!

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

Nanny A’s Story: To a Never Forgotten Friend Fitness Friday: A March Break in Routine Throws Me for a Loop

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


