Nutrition Tidbits: Coffee is Good for You (and Me) and More

March 21, 2011 at 2:38 pm 4 comments

A couple of interesting facts I gleaned from my weekend and early Monday morning reading. I’ll save the best for first:

1) A Swedish study associates coffee drinking with a decreased risk of stroke in women. Oh yeah! I don’t usually like to take one study out of its body of evidence, but this one is speaking directly to me. Over the last year I have really come to cherish my coffee. I love my Nespresso machine at home and my Bridgehead coffee when I’m looking for a change of scenery.

If you’re looking for a lay person’s interpretation of the study check out this article from the Washington Post. As the article states, if you’re not a coffee drinker now, you don’t need to run out to the coffee shop this minute. At this point, researchers have just discovered a lower risk of stroke in coffee drinkers with no defined causal link.

I’m going to enjoy a sip of my second cup this minute – aaahhh…

2) I read a fabulous blog about kids’ nutrition called Raise Healthy Eaters written by Maryann Tomovich Jacobsen, MS, RD, a registered dietitian and parent. In her post today, she listed five myths about children’s nutrition. I consider myself fairly well-versed or at least aware when it comes to nutrition but do you know, I believed, at least to some degree, three of the five myths listed? Check it out and see what you know about these myths. While you’re there, also take a peek at her series on Managing Sweets. I’m trying to gradually implement many of her suggestions with Lil C.

Now, to finish that cup of coffee…

Entry filed under: In the news, nutrition. Tags: , , , .

Fitness Friday: A March Break in Routine Throws Me for a Loop Style Tuesday: Twenty Seven Hours in the Big Smoke (Toronto)

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia  |  March 21, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks for introducing me to a new blog. I believed a couple of those myths too. I love the one about fruit being enough. I always feel guilty if I feel like I haven’t served up enough veggies in a week.

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  March 22, 2011 at 1:03 pm

      Alicia, Lil C barely eats veg except the odd cucumber and carrot so that made me feel better too.

      Reply
  • 3. Maryann  |  March 21, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Thanks Liisa. I appreciate the mention!

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  March 22, 2011 at 1:02 pm

      You’re welcome Maryann. I really appreciate the info on your blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


