Fitness Friday: Refueling My Twitchy Tired Muscles

March 25, 2011 at 4:21 pm 3 comments

Today my legs feel like tired lead-filled tree stumps attached to my upper body. Last night my right quad (near my knee) had a pulse rate of about 90 beats per minute (twitching!). I applied heat because it felt good. I don’t know if that is what I should be doing. This is the first week my legs feel this tired.

This morning Matt (trainer) asked if I was refueling properly after my runs. Normally, the answer is a resounding YES. I am careful to eat or drink something with a ratio of approx 3:1 carbs:protein after all runs. Yesterday though, after my tempo run, the answer was a big fat NO. I had to take Derek somewhere so I ran home, showered, drank some water, and drove for 45 minutes (note the absence of any type of stretching). I then had a Tim Horton’s coffee with a 1/4 hot chocolate and didn’t eat for another hour and a half or so, which would have been 3 hours after the end of my run.

Perhaps, this has something to do with my 500 lb legs today. Or perhaps not. But I’m going to try not to let that happen again.

Any runners/athletes have any thoughts on this?

As you ponder that, I will share with you a recipe for a DELICIOUS protein shake my friend LK shared with me over the weekend. I tried out a variation of her recipe this morning, so I’ll give you both here. They include an ingredient I had never used before, coconut flour (buy it at your health food store; in Ottawa I got mine at Natural Food Pantry – brand is Bob’s Red Mill)

LK’s New Favourite Morning Shake

1 scoop chocolate whey protein

1 tbsp coconut flour
1 tbsp milled flaxseed
1 tsp chia or salba
1 tsp cocoa powder

Water to taste; shake or blend and enjoy.

LV’s Variation on LK’s Favourite Shake

1 scoop chocolate whey protein

1 tbsp coconut flour
1 tbsp sunflower seed butter
1 tsp cocoa powder

6 ice cubes

Water to taste; blend and enjoy.

The coconut flour adds a thickness and richness which makes this delish! I will be drinking this on a regular basis for the next while.

Running Rundown

Everything is posted in km. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 19.5 km run – ran just over 2 km warm-up, then 16 km with Elation Run Club and then home (to shower quickly and catch a plane for some fun in Toronto).  There were a few hills on our run. I don’t like hills.

Monday – 6 km easy run in the snow home from Greco studio 5:30/km pace.

Tuesday – 10 km speed run. Just started a “learn to run faster” class at the Elation Centre. I think the group thing will make me go fast even on days when I feel like slacking a bit. 2 km warm-up. 300 m fast/2 min jog/600 m fast- 3 min jog/900 m fast – 4 min jog and then repeat the whole thing once more. Slow cool-down run back to the studio.  I don’t usually run in the evening. It felt different. I thought I would have a hard time falling asleep afterwards, but I actually couldn’t keep my eyes open and fell asleep before 10pm (run ended at 8 pm)

Thursday – 11 km tempo run. I did this first thing in the morning so it took me awhile to get warmed up. 2.5 km warm-up at 5:40/km; 5 km @ 5:07 (ish)/km; rest of 11 km at 5:30/km

Strength Training Stats

Monday: Greco Lean and Fit class

Friday: Upper body and core with my trainer. My legs are tired. I wanted to rest them completely today.

We’ve got lots of kid fun planned including dinner at restaurant of their choice, movie tomorrow afternoon, dinner at friend’s place tomorrow night and Sugar Bush with a gaggle (my friend’s word for them; I like it) of little boys on Sunday morning!

I hope I survive – must get to bed early tonight. Long run in the morning.

Have a great weekend!

Entry filed under: Fitness, nutrition. Tags: , , , .

Nanny A’s Story: Life Goes on in Different Ways Busy Weekend & Week Ahead: No Time for Words Today

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  March 25, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    hey Liisa: great to see you at the run on Tues, you looked amazing – fast
    Yes your tired legs would have something to do with not refuelling properly and in fact it can add up through out the weeek, so each time we don’t refuel fast enough (you only have 30 mins max after your workout) and/or eat enough, the tank gets lower and lower, until the end of the week when we are tired, crank and twitching. Eat well and eat lots and enjoy!

    Reply
  • 2. fitforakid  |  March 25, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Thanks for the helpful (as usual) info Donna. I’m going to more careful from now on (and eating more is something I can definitely do!).

    Reply
  • 3. Lynn  |  March 25, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Sounds amazing…I’ll try it this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


