Style Tuesday: Hair Style

March 29, 2011 at 2:16 pm 3 comments

Get ready for some earth-shattering self-reflection here.

Should you have insight and opinions to share, I will most certainly consider your comments (and make life-altering decisions based on them).

I had long hair in high school. Long naturally wavy hair that made girls like me envy girls with straight hair.

After a break up in university, I cut my hair short. I loved it. I got tons of compliments on my haircut. I wore it in various short trendy styles, from the very edgy to the more “cute” until after I had Lil D.

Here I am with 5 month old Lil D:

Going out for a walk with a 5 month old Lil D

Then I grew my hair out. I now have what by most standards would be considered long hair. I wear it up often, probably 4 out of 7 days a week.

This is what it often looks like:

It’s convenient for physical activity. I used to hate how I would look like a poodle with short sweaty frizzy hair at the end of a hard workout.

I love how my long hair looks when it’s “done”. I usually get a blow dry for social events. I’m not sure this is the best photo, but you get the idea (slightly more polished than the look above):

Oh, and the colour – I recently had this effect done:

Lighter ends - but a bit subtler than these celebs - closest to the one on the far right

The thing with long hair is that one a bad hair day, I look like I would be right at home with other female convicts in orange with painted on eyebrows – I know you can imagine it in the not-so-flattering photo below, the prison jumpsuit, darker thinner eyebrows and lots of lip liner…

As I look at celebrities and fashion icons in my age group and older, I note that they mostly have hair that goes past their shoulders. I appreciate the softer aesthetic that the longer hair gives their overall look.

So, what to do? Perhaps I might just start with a chop of a few inches and go from there.

Oh, and if you want to see the best stylist in the city, especially for long wavy hair, follow @stefaniastyle on Twitter.

Entry filed under: Fashion, Style. Tags: , .

Busy Weekend & Week Ahead: No Time for Words Today Sweet Tooth Gets a (Healthy) Treat

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Your best friend  |  March 31, 2011 at 1:58 am

    I’m surprised that no one has weighed in, so now feel completely compelled to do so!

    I vote for the shorter look. I don’t think that the picture of the shorter version that you’ve included does it justice.

    And now I’m going to sound like I’m your mother, but I thought your hair was just too long (and unhealthy looking) when you were in TO.

    What are BFs for if they can’t be completely honest!!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  March 31, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      For what it’s worth, three others weighed in on Facebook and told me not to cut it.

      And, so you are aware, you did not need to leave that comment for me to know what you thought. Your looks told me what you thought when I was there! And, since I do value your opinion, those looks started me considering other options. However, you do have to admit that you always have a bias toward shorter hair…

      I’m leaning towards a good trim – like 3 inches – as a start.

      I totally appreciate your honesty. I would do the same!

      Reply
  • 3. Finola  |  April 2, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I like your long hair. For me I find long hair easier to deal with than shorter hair which seems to need more styling to look good.

    Though I always want to chop it in the fall for som reason…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


