Fitness Friday: Sleep Is Good

April 1, 2011 at 6:45 pm 2 comments

This week I’ve turned out the light well before 10 pm every night. I wake up without my alarm and before my children. It feels amazing.

What’s different? Well, I have been avoiding the evening TV shows and instead been watching the stuff I’m really interested in while I’m working or preparing dinner during the day. I’ve also been limiting evening computer to answering personal emails for a few minutes after the kids go to bed.

I’ve been reading for a good hour each evening and I’m loving it.

Oh yes, my little munchkins have been healthy too; that makes a big difference. No stuffy-nosed night wakings. Now I’ve probably jinxed it.

Sleep is good. Sleep makes me a nicer person. Sleep makes me a more patient mom.

Running Rundown

Everything is posted in km. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 20 km run – ran 18 km with Elation Run Club and then an extra couple on the way home. Derek was away so I had to get a sitter to come first thing in the morning. The kids loved it!

Tuesday – 10 km hill run on the treadmill. 2 km warm-up, 8 x 500 m 4.0 incline at 5:10/km pace and 500 m rest in between at 5:40/km pace. I had originally booked a sitter so I could go to my evening group run, but since Derek was away, I decided my sleep and evening time were too precious and I would run during the day.

Thursday – 9 km tempo run (should have been 10 km). 2 km warm-up at 5:40/km; 3 km @ 5:00/km pace; rest of 1 km at 6:00/km pace and then 2 km @ 5:00/km pace; 1 km cool down at 6:00/km pace. The last fast bit should have been 3 km rather than 2 km but I got a really bad cramp. This was the first workout that I didn’t complete in its entirety. I was frustrated with myself and went back out to do an extra fast km about 15 minutes later, but the cramp came on again right away so I gave up and headed for the shower.

When I was skipping to warm-up for my workout this morning, I still felt the cramp. Hope the spasm relaxes completely before tomorrow (I’m thinking ibuprofen).

Strength Training Stats

Monday: Greco Lean and Fit class

Friday: Upper body and core with my trainer. Felt good. Way less tired than last week.

Looking forward to a fun-filled weekend after a long run tomorrow morning. I’ve got a fabulous party to go to tomorrow eve and lots of playdates scheduled on Sunday.

Have a great weekend and happy (actual) spring!

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , , .

The Commish Mom and Dad’s Travel Stories: Stranded at the Edge of the Earth

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Finola  |  April 2, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    That’s amazing that you’re up to 20K already. There is a very long hill off the Byron pathway that I used for hill workouts last year. I just can’t remember the name of the street right now. Maybe on a nice day we can meet for a hill workout!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  April 4, 2011 at 7:26 pm

      Would love to meet for a hill workout sometime! Let me know when you want company…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


