French Immersion Testing

April 5, 2011 at 2:57 pm 5 comments

On Thursday April 14th at 10:45 am, Lil D goes for testing to see if his level of French knowledge is adequate for Grade 1 Early French Immersion (EFI).

Why must he be tested? He must be tested because he did not got to Early French Immersion senior kindergarten within the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board (OCDSB).

How will they test him? I have no idea. Have you ever tried to “test” a five-year old by asking them to show a friend/family a “trick” they know when they don’t feel like it?

When I had initially called the school board to make sure he could be admitted to Grade 1 EFI from a private senior kindergarten program, they told me I needed a letter from his school indicating the hours of instruction he had received in French. They never mentioned anything about testing.

I provided the letter. He has a teacher who speaks exclusively French to him throughout the 7-hour day, gives him French “lessons” on French materials (as they are done in Montessori) in addition to a couple of French “circles” each day. This compared to OCDSB senior kindergarten which is 2.5 hours a day.

The testing really irks me. I have a friend who’s child was in senior kindergarten in a French school board public school but he still needs to be tested. She is as concerned as I am. It’s that “perform on command” thing that bothers us most I think. These boys are five!

I tried to find a senior kindergarten early french immersion curriculum so I have an idea of their expectations or a set of criteria against which he will be measured. It doesn’t exist, at least in an easily accessible place online. The grade 1 expectations are there though.

Perhaps this is because there are none (just guessing). Did you know that children are not legally required to go to school until Grade 1? So, I guess they would be excluded from Early French Immersion if they didn’t start school in kindergarten.

The Montessori school that Lil D attends has also tried to get the curriculum expectations for Early French Immersion but the director has not received a response from the school board.

I think I would be okay with it if they tested every kid before sending them to Grade 1 (with an examiner they had never met before), but of course they won’t.

I hope that April 14th is an “on” day for Lil D. Otherwise, the school should be put on notice – I can be very loud when I feel I haven’t been treated fairly.

Entry filed under: Otown, Parenting. Tags: , , .

Style Tuesday: Party Chic Nothing in Particular (but Eating, Reading, Gift-giving, and Baking)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia  |  April 5, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Hmmm interesting, I’ve never heard of that! Good luck lil D!

    Reply
  • 2. Stefanie Couture  |  April 5, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    Oh my gawd! I wouldn’t like my 5 yr old to be tested to determine whether or not he can be in the French stream. Seems a little crazy. I was chatting with Sophie’s mom from class and she was wondering what the process would be if she kept Sophie in Montessori for another year – until gr. 1. She’d be interested in this blog post. Thanks for sharing. And good luck to Lil D.

    Reply
  • 3. Jaya  |  April 5, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    I have the same issue with my five year old daughter who goes to a Montessori. She has 1 hr French instruction everyday, but since she does not attend the EFI senior kindergarten, they might have to test her before they enrol her in the program. My daughter is a typical 5 yr old and may not perform on demand. Keeping fingers crossed.

    Reply
  • 4. The French Immersion Test – A Report « Fit for a kid  |  April 14, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    […] Today was the big day – the much-anticipated French immersion test. […]

    Reply
  • 5. lucia  |  May 31, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    que tonteria

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


