Fitness Friday: A Blog Holiday

April 22, 2011 at 12:13 pm 3 comments

I took an unscheduled blogging holiday this week. But I ain’t gonna miss Fitness Friday!

A quick recap of the week’s fitness-related highlights before the usual running and other fitness stuff:

  • I’ve got a sore foot. I’ve been doing physio. It may harken back to mechanics of my foot due to years of dance. Physio should get me through my planned races and then I’m taking a couple of weeks off running altogether (at least that’s the plan).
  • I tested out my running skirt in sunny HOT Florida yesterday (yes, that’s part of why I’ve taken a blog holiday, an unexpected real holiday!). I loved the skirt. I hate wearing shorts because I don’t find them flattering but running in the skirt left me cooler than in capris and still feeling ‘flattered’.
  • A big CONGRATULATIONS to all who ran the Boston Marathon! I enjoyed following your journeys (and no mom, do not worry, this is not something I aspire to do).

Running Rundown

Everything is posted in km. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 19 km run – along the bike paths – woohoo! Slow, easy, windy and fun.

Tuesday – 8.5 km – 2 km warm-up; 5 x 400 m @ 4:50/km pace, 100 m rest, 200 m @ 4:50/km pace, 400 m active rest; 1 km cool-down

Thursday – 11 km run along A1A in sunny southern Florida – no watch or Garmin so no idea about pace except that the second half against the wind and in the mounting day’s heat was definitely slower.

Stretching has been lacking after runs this week as I’ve been pressed for time. My upper hamstrings are not happy about that.

Strength Training Stats

Does holding a 37 pound kid in a 45 minute line-up for customs count? Didn’t think so.

No strength training this week. Back at it on Tuesday.

Hope everyone had a great week. Have a great holiday weekend! There are many little chocolate foil-wrapped goodies to be consumed (or avoided) – yay!

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , .

Fitness Friday: An Inspiration Style Tuesday: Busy Spring Lifestyle

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  April 22, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    Plantar fascitis???

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  April 22, 2011 at 12:51 pm

      Yes, in combination with other inflamed joints.

      Reply
  • 3. Lesley  |  April 26, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Wow. I am tired just reading about your training. Good on ya! You would probably make a great personal trainer yourself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


