Those Two Recipes I Mentioned Yesterday

April 28, 2011 at 1:24 pm 3 comments

Yesterday I couldn’t get over my carrot cake loaf long enough to give this week’s two other culinary successes their due. So today, I’ve got a cookie recipe that will help you get rid of the rest of your Mini Eggs so they don’t continue to haunt you for weeks to come, and a delicious, if maybe not perfectly authentic, recreation of a well-known restaurant specialty.

Let’s do what I like to do and start with dessert. If you’ve been reading for awhile, you might remember this recipe that incorporated leftover Halloween treats. Well, for me the purpose of this recipe is the same. Get that sweet Mini Egg crack (anyone see the most recent episode of The Office? There’s a line about people using “crack” as a point of reference when they’ve never tried crack) out of the house as fast as I can.

I saw a picture of a cookie that had pastel coloured M&M’s nested in green oatmeal cookies that were meant to look like grass. I thought they looked somewhat revolting, but I liked the idea of using the pretty Mini-Egg colours in cookies. So, I searched for another cookie recipe that incorporated candy coated chocolates. I found this one from the Pioneer Woman.

I then rejigged it a little to include only ingredients I had on hand (and to cut a bit of the add-ins – I thought I had a sweet tooth…) and to make them pretty with the Mini Eggs. I only had enough chocolate candies for half the cookies. The ones without are great. I would make this recipe again with or without.

Mini-Egg Chocolate Chip Krispie Cookies

Makes 80 two-bite cookies (I made only about half with the Mini Eggs). The Rice Krispies really extend this recipe and give it a little crunch.

Ingredients:

  • 2 sticks (1/2 Pound) Butter, softened
  • ½ cup White Sugar
  • 1-½ cups Brown Sugar, packed
  • 2 whole Large Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 2 teaspoons Kosher Salt
  • 1-½ cup Oats (either Quick Or Regular)
  • 1/8 cup ground flax
  • ¾ cups Chocolate Chips (milk Or Semi-sweet; I used the latter)
  • 2-¼ cups Rice Krispies
  • Leftover Mini Eggs

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Cream butter with sugars until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add vanilla and beat.
  3. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and kosher salt. Add to mixing bowl and mix till combined. After that, add in remaining ingredients in whatever quantity you prefer. Add nuts, or more M & M’s, more peanut butter chips or chocolate chips.
  4. Add Rice Crispies at the very end, mixing until just combined. Do not over mix!
  5. Use a small cookie scoop to scoop balls of dough on to a cookie sheet. Bake until golden brown, then allow to cool on a rack. Press Mini Egg into the top of each warm cookie to settle it into its “nest”. I put the Mini Egg in before baking, but I think it would look better if you press it in after baking.

See what I mean?

These were so cute, that they inspired me to buy a glass cookie jar so that my treats are not hidden away in ugly plastic or awkwardly stored on covered plates.

Here’s what they look like without the candy:

After making quick work of those cookies on Sunday and Monday, by Tuesday, I needed real food.

When I was in Florida last week, we had a meal at P.F. Chang’s. My mom enjoyed the chicken lettuce wraps and I loved the tofu version. I tried to dissect the dish as I ate it. My mom was convinced the “special” ingredient was the sauce.

I consulted my trusty friend Google and came across many recipes that looked like they approximated the dish. So off I went, with the ingredients in my fridge and pantry, to piece something similar together. It wasn’t an exact copy, but what I came up with was good. I ate it for lunch, dinner and then dinner again tonight (while the boys and their father ate MEAT).

TOFU LETTUCE WRAPS A LA P.F. CHANG’S

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • head of iceberg lettuce
  • 1 pound extra firm or firm tofu
  • 2 3/4 cups chopped mushrooms (I used regular white mushrooms)
  • 4 tablespoons chopped garlic (fresh)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped ginger (fresh)
  • 4 oz chopped water chestnuts (drained) OR 2 c bean sprouts (I used these)
  • Reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. Chop your tofu into tiny squares (1.5 cubic cm) and toss lightly in soy sauce and pepper.
  2. Spread tofu on a sprayed pan/cookie sheet. Bake at 375F for about 30 minutes or until tofu looks crisp on the outside.
  3. While the tofu is baking, heat olive oil in skillet or wok. Stir fry chopped up garlic and ginger until tender, about 3 minutes. Add in the mushrooms and a few shakes of soy sauce. At this time you can add soy sauce, usually about 4 shakes (depending on your palette). When the mushrooms are cooked to your preferred doneness (some like them more well-done than I do), add bean sprouts or water chestnuts to warm through without making them too soggy.
  4. Remove from heat and add tofu to the stir fry mix.
  5. Spoon on lettuce and roll it up like a fajita.

Note: You can add brown or white rice to extend this dish.

Another note: Next time I will use water chestnuts. I forgot to replace them in my pantry so I didn’t have any on hand.

Nutrition Facts (Chocolate Chip Krispie Cookies):

Calories per serving: 257, Protein 25 g, Fat 13 g, Carbohydrate 8 g

Nutrition Facts (tofu lettuce wraps):

Calories per serving: 69, Protein 1 g, Fat 3 g, Carbohydrate 10 g

Happy eating!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Vegan-Style Carrot Cake Loaf with Lemon Glaze Fitness Friday: One Month Until the Half-Marathon

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] my runs and thus my overall percentage of protein is down. I feel good though, and aside from the cookies, loaves, chocolates, I feel like my body is getting what it […]

    Reply
  • 2. Nickie  |  May 3, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    What an amazing idea!! I am going home tonight to clear out my Easter stash. Thanks for the recipe (and the thought) Liisa!

    Reply
    • 3. fitforakid  |  May 4, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      Nickie – if you have a chance, report back on how it turned out and how it was received!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


