Nanny A’s Story: She Knows About the Blog!

May 18, 2011 at 3:47 pm 3 comments

Last week I received an email from my mom with the subject line “Heads Up!!!”.

Yes, there were indeed three exclamation marks.

The first line of the body of the email was “It’s out the bag!”.

You see, sometime ago, my mom and I decided that we wouldn’t tell my grandmother that I blogged about her. She knew I was recording her life story and had given her permission to show it to whomever – the more the better, in fact – she wants her story told.

However, we decided that my blogging about the process of documenting the story would be more candid and unguarded if she didn’t read it.

Well, that is not to be any longer.

A friend of Nanny’s arrived for a visit with a bunch of printed pages in her hand and the announcement “I have a surprise for you!”.

Apparently, she had searched Nanny’s name on Google and found this photo from this post where she is identified by her full name.

Nanny’s friend then presented the print outs from this blog to Nanny and gave her a tutorial and written instructions on how to follow the blog.

So everyone reading can now say a collective “Hi Nanny!!”.

According to the reports I have received from her insiders, Nanny is very pleased with my recounts of our visits and her story. She appreciates my candidness and my sense of humour.

Nanny is also so flattered that you are interested in reading about her and that you even take the time to comment.

So, the plan is to continue as before. I’m just going to tell it like it I see it. I’m sometimes known to say too much… in this case, so be it. I know Nanny understands.

Last Week’s Visit:

On Friday I spent a couple of hours with Nanny. We went through some old documents and talked a bit about life immediately after the war. We also talked about their first few years as new immigrants in Canada. This part of the story is really interesting and I’d like to write a whole separate post about it. You can expect that soon.

I’ll give you a little teaser: It involves correspondence with the Prime Minister of Canada, Louis St. Laurent.

So again – Hi Nanny! I’m glad you’re reading and I’m glad to be helping you tell your story.

Entry filed under: Nanny A's Story. Tags: , .

I Owe You Some Style Fitness Friday: Is Shopping Considered Physical Activity?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  May 18, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Awesome! I was wondering how Nanny A’s story was coming along. Looking forward to reading more.

    Reply
  • 2. Stefanie  |  May 19, 2011 at 12:23 am

    This is a very cute post. Love that your Nanny A is pleased and flattered. I can’t wait to hear about PRime Minister Louis St. Laurent.

    Reply
  • 3. Tracey  |  May 20, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    I love that Nanny is reading! Hi Nanny! I check back often for updates to her story on your blog.
    Looking forward to the new post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


