Fitness Friday: Is Shopping Considered Physical Activity?

May 20, 2011 at 10:06 am 8 comments

‘Cause shopping is what I’m doing right now (love scheduling posts in advance) on the streets of Montreal… or maybe I’m sitting in a cafe sipping on an Americano, and later I’m gonna be enjoying what I hope will be a delicious meal here.

Derek and I are spending the day in La Belle Ville for a complete change of scenery. We’ll be home before dark and hopefully we’ll feel like we had a little vacation.

Last night I went for a walk with my friend after the kids’ bedtime. Actually, we walked to The Table and got ourselves a little treat (vegan chocolate pudding and tofu cheesecake for me, and vegan apple crumble and Queen Elizabeth cake for her). It’s a great spot cause all the food is priced by weight and you can cut yourself just a little sliver (or thick slice) of whatever appeals to you and get a nice sampling for a reasonable price.

Anyway, my friend asked me what my next physical challenge is going to be after this half-marathon…

I answered her honestly that I don’t think I know for sure. I might want to run some shorter races – 10ks – and see if I can get faster. I think I want to do less running for awhile (well, less distance anyways) and focus on strength and maybe even make time for at least one weekly yoga class.

It’s interesting. I love running long distances. I find those runs the most enjoyable. But I also like doing other fitness activities and my time is limited.

That being said, I have already signed up for the next Speed Class.

Before I get to the details of this week’s workout, I wanna wish you all a sunny and active long weekend! My boys are with their grandparents until Saturday evening so it’s gonna be a quiet couple of days.

Lastly, I am going to apologize in advance if you’re not into running or Ottawa Race Weekend, but the next few posts may have to do with that because it’s what I’ve got on the brain until at least May 29th!

Stay with me. I promise to get back to recipes and kid stuff and style (other than sneakers and tights) and Nanny’s story before long.

Lil C had an emergency trip to the doctor yesterday. He’s completely fine, not to worry. That story coming soon…

Oh wait – one last thing – Half-Marathon Outfit. I need to decide what to wear. I’m going to do a dress-rehearsal of my running skirt and a long tank top on Saturday. If that works for comfort, I’m gonna get you blog readers to weigh-in. Derek thinks it’s hysterical that I’m thinking about this but,

  1. I must be comfortable
  2. I must feel good in my outfit
  3. I must be easy to spot by my throngs of fans and supporters.

Can’t wait to share my options with you next week (and I know you can’t wait for the opportunity to be part of this most important decision).

Running Rundown

Everything is posted in km. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 16 km run with Elation Run Club in the rain. It’s all downhill from here until the big day. Yay!

Tuesday – 14 km run with Speed Class (and there and back). Approx 4 km warm-up and cool-down. The group was doing a hill run, but to avoid aggravating my foot injury, I went on my own to do some intervals based on the hill workout (thanks to Sherry for modifying for me!). 3 x 90 seconds fast with 90 second active rest; 3 x 3:30 fast with 3:30 active rest; 3 x 90 seconds fast with same active rest. It worked out perfectly.

Thursday – 4.5 km run with 3 race pace kms. Felt really good in the legs and lungs department… but I ate too much too close to this run and I felt it.

Strength Training Stats

Monday: Greco Lean and Fit class in Kanata. I usually go to the Centretown location. It’s always fun to go to Kanata for a change of pace and scenery. It usually makes me work a little harder.

That is all.

Entry filed under: Fitness, Travel. Tags: , , , , , .

Nanny A’s Story: She Knows About the Blog! Style Tuesday: Montreal. The Highs and Lows.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stefanie  |  May 20, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I saw you in a yellow running shirt after you dropped the kids off one morning… i noticed you right away and thought you looked great. Hoping one of your outfits has yellow in it… if not, I’ll still find you when you run by.

    Enjoy Montreal!

    Reply
  • 3. Jenn  |  May 20, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    You’re too funny Liisa…I love that you have “throngs of fans and supporters” and think they will all be looking to spot you. Well, if I run on Sat I too will be testing out my running skirt. I’m certain we’ll both look great : )
    Dylan told me a little bit about C’s ordeal yesterday but I won’t spoil it for all your fans.

    Reply
  • 4. Tracey  |  May 20, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    I like the running posts because I’m a newbie to it, and slow as molasses, but I enjoy “just doing it.” I’d love to just “enjoy” running-nice sunny day, shoes on, going for a run. Not thinking about distance or time or speed…just for the joy of running. I’ll get there. 🙂

    I have NO running type wear at all. It’s NOT pretty. I’d love to read a post with your suggestions/reviews of the best running wear-shoes, attire, accroutements!

    I’m sure you’ll look fab no matter what you wear!

    Reply
  • 5. Mindy  |  May 26, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    Just make sure you wear something that you’ve already worn for a long run and don”t forget the body glide!

    Reply
    • 6. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  May 27, 2011 at 1:30 am

      And that is exactly why I had to do the dress rehearsal! Thanks for the body glide advice… Gonna try to pick some up at the expo tomorrow. We’ll have to the same run again some day soon like the old days (but we’ll have a bigger fan club).

      Reply
  • 7. Anthea  |  June 4, 2011 at 5:45 am

    I don’t know if shopping is a physical activity but I can tell you as someone who works in a retail store that the employees are getting exercise.You’d be amazed at the arm muscle you develop just by taking clother off racks!

    Reply
    • 8. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  June 4, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Oh, I never thought of the strength training implications… I was simply thinking energy expenditure. You’re right, I bet shoppers are also expending some muscular effort when they carry their parcels from store to store!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


