Style Tuesday: Montreal. The Highs and Lows.

May 24, 2011 at 8:38 pm 3 comments

On Friday, Derek and I spent the day in Montreal –  a whole day with a real change of scenery to get us out of our regular routine. The weather was great. We strolled through the Plateau area. We shopped, and ate, and snacked and shopped and ate.

I was so disappointed in my meals. Stop #1 was supposed to be Cafe Santropol. I have wanted to go there for twenty years. I never got there when I lived in Montreal and I had Friday’s route all planned starting there.

We arrived as planned, were handed menus and told to find a table in the lovely garden. We did. And we sat there for fifteen minutes. No one even acknowledged our presence (or the presence of the other table that arrived after us, even after they went up to request service). We were starving so after twenty minutes with no greeting, we just left. I told the waitress who was standing in the corner texting that we were leaving. She said “okay, sorry” and went back to her phone. Uuuggh! Twenty years and twenty minutes and now I will probably never taste one of their delicious-looking sandwiches. I am a woman of principle after all.

So, we headed back to St. Laurent and I could tell Derek wanted to go to Schwartz’s. There is nothing vegetarian on the menu except pickles, coleslaw and fries. I had a pickle and coleslaw (so yummy and sour).

After “lunch”, we went across the street and I enjoyed a blizzard-like ice cream as my main course.

Then, we began the serious part of our trip – shopping!

Derek did his fair share, but this blog is about me so I give you a few highlights (actually just items for which I could find images):

Simple - better price than in Ottawa

Zoa knit tunic; apparently I am the first one to purchase this in Canada... I bet he says that to all the girls

Best shopkeeper: the guy at Johnny Boy. He gave us a ton of discounts and gave us the low down on the sad looking empty stores up and down the street.

Second Clothing Red Jeans: Trendiest purchase - will have to style these classicly for conservative Ottawa

And then we saw this place – YEH Frozen Yogurt and Cafe. Being two sweet tooths, we had to try it out (yes, ice cream and frozen yogurt in the same afternoon).

You walk in and help yourself to one of eight fro yo flavours – all probriotic, 7 of 8 fat-free, one was dairy-free (I think).

You then help yourself to toppings.

For me: A little taste of lots.

For Derek - lots of yogurt with fresh fruit

And then dinner. We were not in the mood for a big meal so we opted to skip our reservation at Le Local and instead stop at Bamboo Bleu on Saint Denis for Vietnamese. The shrimp salad rolls were delicious. The veggies and vermicelli plate had a big chunk of pork in it. I lost my appetite very quickly. Another failed meal attempt.

And we went home.

Shopping good.

Montreal atmosphere and people-watching great.

Couple-time lovely.

Eating bad.

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fitness, Style, Travel. Tags: , , .

Fitness Friday: Is Shopping Considered Physical Activity? Uh-oh

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather  |  May 28, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    I love reading your blogs Liisa. We have to catch up sometime!

    Reply
  • 3. AC  |  May 28, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    )Next time, don’t skip the meal at Le Local 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


