Uh-oh

May 26, 2011 at 1:12 pm 11 comments

Sunday is the run I’ve been preparing for eagerly for over 4 months.

On Tuesday my Garmin just stopped working*.

Since yesterday I’ve been suffering from a tummy bug.**

The weather forecast says 23C (with a humidex of 30C). I’ve been training in cool weather (lately around 10-15C).

Uh-oh!

*Thank you to the lovely guy at Bushtukah for simply swapping out my watch for a new one. Amazing customer care (I think they actually care!).

**I still have 68 hours to make a recovery.

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: .

Style Tuesday: Montreal. The Highs and Lows. Half-Marathon Race Day Preparations

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly  |  May 26, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    gah! speedy recovery thoughts coming your way!!

    Reply
  • 3. Lynn  |  May 26, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Good luck! Hope the weather clears and all goes well. We’ll be doing the 2K and 5K on Saturday so we’ll be with you in spirit :).

    Reply
  • 5. Julie Drury  |  May 26, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    You’ve done the work – you are going to be great.
    Tummy bug will be gone by Sunday. Eat your typical foods and make sure you stay hydrated (especially with a bug).
    As for weather – you can’t control it. Worry about what you can control. Hit all the water stations and drink (try pinching your cup to make a funnel – reduces spillage when you drink from the Gatorade cups).
    Get to bed early the next few days and don’t stress abou the small stuff. Just go over your race plan in your head and stick with that.

    You’ll be great. Can’t wait to hear the post-race story.

    Reply
    • 6. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  May 27, 2011 at 1:34 am

      Thanks for the advice Julie! I’m drinking and eating and hoping for a quick recovery.

      Good tip about the cups.

      Reply
  • 7. Jenn  |  May 26, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    Oh Liisa! What is happening? The current weather forecast is for 36C with humidity. I’m gonna do a rain dance tonight and am also sending you healthy energetic vibes. I need my running partner to be healthy!! Let me know if there is anything I can help with. rest, rest, rest.

    Reply
    • 8. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  May 27, 2011 at 1:37 am

      Let’s stay positive. 60 hours to get healthy.

      Reply
      • 9. Jenn  |  May 27, 2011 at 1:50 am

        60 hours…plenty of time to recover and deliver a stellar performance on race day : )

  • […] you haven’t read my posts in awhile or are new to my blog, you can read this post and this one to see what the week leading up to the run looked […]

    Reply
  • […] fact, after all my recent tummy troubles, I turned to Donna and Deb and spent a week eliminating inflammatory foods (for me mostly: coffee, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


