Race Recap: Alterna Do It for Dad 5k

June 20, 2011 at 12:28 am 2 comments

Happy Father’s Day to my dad and (my private, camera-shy) Derek!

I've fallen and I can't get up.

This week I still wasn’t feeling strong so I decided to go have fun, try to run fast for a short distance, and switch to the Alterna Do It for Dad 5k instead of the 10k. The race organizers were easily able to do that at the race kit pick-up, and I was set to run with my friend Jenn and her dad (a prostate cancer survivor who incidentally came third in his age category!).

Before I describe the run, I just want to thank those of you who sponsored me. I had set a modest fundraising goal and you made it happen!

The race kit pick-up was well-organized, though the kit included the race number with embedded disposable chip and the ugliest race shirt yet (sorry race organizers – it’s just bad).

No additional race preparations were required since the distance is so short – no running belt, no sports drink, no fuel – so easy. I changed up my pre-run breakfast for summer and went with a green smoothie (baby spinach, frozen raspberries, half a banana, ground flax, hemp protein powder, and water. I took a disposable bottle of water with me for the expected half-hour of waiting before the run.

BUT – the parking lot traffic was bad and it took us twenty minutes to get into the lot and park. I only had about 10-15 minutes to warm-up before the start. I did about two minutes – no water required.

I loved that this run started early – official start time should have been 7:50 am though it started a few minutes late. This is ideal for spring/summer.

The 10k runners took off and five minutes later, I was crossing the start line right behind Jenn. We were with the 5 min/km pace bunny. We told her that we wanted to do slightly faster than that and she cooperated! She was pacing us at about 4:38 min/km. Jenn passed her around the 3.5 km mark (to finish in 22:42). I didn’t, but I sure went faster than I had planned!

My A Goal for this race was under 24:00 minutes. I did that easily with a chip time of 23:02. I actually didn’t realize that the finish was coming up so soon. I could have started my last push earlier, and then I would have broken the 23 minute mark.

Apparently there is always something I coulda, shoulda, woulda at the end of a race.

Jenn and I drove to meet our sons and their Father’s Day fathers at swimming lessons. I took off for an additional 5 k to make it my week’s longish run.

What a great start to a great day!

My post-half-marathon rest is over and training for the next one has begun.

From the race result website:

87 Liisa Ottawa ON Chip Time: 23:02; Pace 4:39; Category Place (Women 30-39) 5/83, Gender Place 17/329

Next Up:

Hintonburg 1k on July 17, 2011 with Derek, Lil D and Lil C, and then most likely Xerox 10k August 16, 2011, all leading up to the Army Half-Marathon, September 18, 2011.

I hope to see some of you locals out on the paths or the run courses this summer!

Entry filed under: Fitness, Otown. Tags: , , .

Fitness Friday: More Excuses & Kids on the Run Style Tuesday: Churchill’s Pub in Westboro – New Restaurant Review

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn  |  June 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Just a small correction from a proud daughter. My dad placed 2nd in his age category (60-69) with a time of 25:45. It was a great race for all! I agree the race shirt was one of the ugliest I have seen yet. And a big thanks to the pace bunny who granted our wish!!

    Reply
  • […] – 10 km run – 5k race (read about it here) and 5k slow cool-down on my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


