Style and Fitness Saturday: Swimwear and Skincare

July 9, 2011 at 7:26 pm 5 comments

What do you wear to the public pool when you go with your kids? At what age is a bikini no longer appropriate? Where oh where can I find an attractive yet supportive bathing suit for playing with my kids at the pool AND sitting at the beach sipping a margarita on vacation? These are the questions I asked myself last week.

I have one two-piece that I love. It’s three years old and looking a little worn out – though I will continue to wear it since I love it that much.

I was on vacation in Costa Rica a year and a half ago and found a cute little shop that custom-made suits and/or could copy your fav. I couldn’t pass that up! I had two made from the shopkeeper’s choice of fabrics. They weren’t cheap but they weren’t expensive either. They looked okay and fit well, but the quality and support is not nearly as good as the original. In fact, the clasp on one broke recently.

If this idea is of interest to you, I hear that Forbie in Ottawa will do the same thing suit copying, though I think the quality/fabric issue might be similar to the one I am experiencing. Plus, it doesn’t look all that fashion forward, but I’m judging a book by its cover with that last statement.

So, I’ve got one great-looking suit that is comfortable enough to play soccer with the boys on the beach in. I’ve got one copy of the beloved one that is okay, and I’ve got a one-piece that is okay for wearing for short periods of time (it has a metal ring that digs into my hip bone).

Bottom line: I needed another. In the summer and on vacation, I’m in a bathing suit at least a few times a week and variety is the spice of life…

Last week, I went to my favourite specialty bathing suit store, Brio Bodywear. With my proportions (not gonna disclose those here), I had a choice of maybe ten suits in the whole store. Five were immediately dismissed for plainness or ugliness. Two had bottoms that would be deemed obscene in many places, and then there were three.

And the winner was:

Yup - polka dots again.

I love this suit – it’s a halter that has a decent amount of fabric between the cups so nothing is flopping about from side to side. Yay! Not a whole lot of choice, but still came out of there with something great.

So now, I’ve got a great bathing suit but I have a problem; I love the sun but my skin doesn’t love it:

1) Sweat trapped beneath sports bra equals back blemishes. Current attempt to curb problem is Tea Tree Oil Body Wash from The Body Shop.

2) Daily sunscreen on face keeps me from getting too tanned, but the darker sun spots/patches are still showing up a bit – uugh. IPL? I’m told it makes the problem worse of the long fun. Creams? Not sure what works. I’m looking for advice here.

3) Shoulders and decoltee in the sun constantly – burn/tan/freckles. Need to re-apply sunscreen more often. I’m good at putting it on the boys, but I always forget about myself. Not good for my health. Bad Liisa.

4) Coloured hair in the sun equals brassiness. I could go get it toned more often, but really, who has time?

Do your kids wear sunshirts with their bathing suits at all times? I’m on the fence about this…

And now, as I sit here waiting for my sick-with-a-fever almost four-year-old to wake up, I give you this week’s workouts.

Running Rundown

Everything is posted in km. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 14 km run

Tuesday – 11 km run with speed training class – 3 km warm-up; 4 x 600m,30 sec rest, 200 m @ between 4:20 and 4:45/km pace; 3 km cool-down

Thursday – 10 km tempo run – 3 km warm-up, 6 km tempo @ 5:04/km avg pace; 1 km cool-down

Cross Training (I’ve decided to change the title from the previous “Strength Training Stats”)

Monday: Greco Lean and Fit class with Derek

Wednesday: Hot yoga class at Moksha Yoga – not sure about this yet. It was hot and sweaty but maybe a little too gentle… went with my friend Stef; she felt the same way. Was perfect for a good stretch the day after speed class though.

So, back to those initial questions:

Do you wear your beach bikini (if you have one) to the public pool with your kids, or do you have a plain and simple tank style that is more conservative? At what age is a bikini no longer appropriate?

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fitness, Style. Tags: , , , , .

Fitness Friday: Canada Day Edition I’ve Officially Been an Adult for Twenty Years

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia  |  July 9, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    I need to get a new swim suit in a bad way and I’m looking at a couple tankini’s. That’s what I feel most comfortable in and you can mix and match the top and bottoms too. I don’t think a bikini has an age limit – if you can rock it, why not?

    Reply
  • 2. Finola  |  July 9, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    I like a tankini too. I have a long body, so a one-piece never seems to fit right, and my belly skin never went back to even close to my before-kids belly so I prefer to keep it covered.
    But there is no age limit on a bikini. Where what makes you feel great!

    Reply
  • 3. Julie Drury  |  July 10, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Definitely struggle with the ‘should I’ or ‘should I not’ re: bikini at the JCC outdoor pool. I have a lovely Lole tankini…but when wet, the bottoms sag a bit, so it is not the favorite. I also like to get an even tan (yes, sunscreen and non-tanning is the better option…but what can i say) including belly and back. Last week I wore a fav black bikini top (I favor the triangle cup halter style) and a ‘matching’ bottom from another black bikini that gave good/better coverage than my regular bottom. I felt comfortable and frankly and tired of worrying about…’what does everyone think’.
    I am just cautious about bending over (belly sag).
    I think if your bikini provides good coverage (string bikinis might be out). Then public pool bikini wear is just fine.

    PS. For some reason, in my opinion, this applies only to summertime outdoor pool wear. I don’t think I’d be caught at the indoor pool in my bikini.

    Reply
  • 4. Jenn  |  July 13, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I still love a bikini, and still wear one to an indoor pool (gasp!).
    Liisa – you might try the new store Fokus on Churchill which has a selection of swimwear.

    Reply
  • 5. mostlyfitmom  |  July 26, 2011 at 4:04 am

    I just bought a faux-wrap tankini. Trust me when I say that no one wants to see my stomach, so no bikinis for me. But if you’ve got it, flaunt it, non?

    My kids often wear their sunshirts, but not always. If they’re only going to be outside for an hour or two, I’ll just let them wear sunscreen. It also depends how much they’re in and out of the water and where we are. In the backyard in Saskatchewan? Not stressin’ much about it. On the beach all day in Mexico? They’re wearing their shirts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


