I’ve Officially Been an Adult for Twenty Years

August 6, 2011 at 1:45 am 1 comment

This morning someone saw me sitting at a coffee shop with my laptop and asked me if I was writing a post (I wasn’t). This afternoon I had an hour to read some of my favourite blogs. These events conspired to inspire me.

I’m baaaack! It doesn’t hurt that I negotiated less hours from my boss/husband so this week I feel like I have a minute to breathe.

We have been so busy this summer and I have wished I could share some of the fun here. I’ll see how much I can cover in this post, but it may take a few. So let’s do this in reverse chronological order.

I celebrated my birthday this week. In honour, I’m going to do a little self-retrospective (I made that word up) of adulthood by decade:

2011 (38 yrs): Two children. A husband. A house built for us. A mortgage. A flexible part-time job in our family business (the fifth job in this decade that I’ve had along several varied career paths, none of which I would call my own though I’ve enjoyed all of them for various reasons). Good friends. Adventures on the not-so-distant horizon.

2001 (28 yrs): Two degrees. Two years of work (and life) experience in Washington DC. Now living in Toronto with my soon-to-be-fiance-husband-father-of-my-children. About to start my first little business.

1991 (18 yrs): Just graduated from high school and off to Montreal and McGill. The ups and downs of young-adulthood were on the horizon…

An aside: Writing that last line makes me realize that the years between 1991 and 2001 were the toughest. There was fun (a lot of fun; sometimes too much fun) but there were also so many challenges emotionally. I think I really became a full-on adult when I moved to Washington in 1998. All alone in a new place, I got to know myself and my capabilities. I made great new friends, got a job, and trained for my first marathon.

Where will I be in 10 years? Through today’s eyes, I see the future like this:

Lil D will be applying to university or college; Lil C will be starting high school; Derek and I will be living closer to the equator or at least visiting more often; Derek will have a completely different business which will have evolved from those he currently works on, and I’ll still be pretending just to be along for the ride.

Hopefully I’ll be a fluent Spanish speaker, a seasoned volunteer, a faster runner than I am today, and a yogi. I may someday go back to my roots as a personal trainer/fitness instructor/exercise physiology person in some way, but I haven’t figured out the time/benefit ratio of that just yet.

Twenty years ago I would never have predicted my future like that; some parts might have been similar, but I would have predicted a successful if not important career. Today, that doesn’t even make the list. I do still feel a need to make my mark, but not via a traditional career.

I am curious to know what my parents thought I would be like as an “experienced” adult – you know, when I was 18, did they have specific hopes, dreams, wants for me and did I live up to them to this point (parents, you guys don’t have to answer here; it’s just a musing)? I ask that because I wonder what my children will be like as young adults twenty years from now. Am I the only one who does that? Do I have an abnormally hard time living in the present?

Perhaps I do, and that brings me to my next question:

Where will the next ten, twenty, even thirty years take me? Only god/hashem/allah/buddah/krishna/nature/fate knows… but I sure hope that the years continue to be as much fun and full of laughter as those that have come before.

Oh! That’s a whole post and I only covered one day. I’ve still got some catching up to do…

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On. Tags: , .

Style and Fitness Saturday: Swimwear and Skincare Back for Real and Back to Reality

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mostlyfitmom  |  August 6, 2011 at 3:07 am

    I’m curious to see what kind of adults my kids will grow up into, too, but I don’t want it to happen too fast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


