Style Tuesday: First Day of School

September 6, 2011 at 10:53 am 3 comments

September 4th 1979: I woke up early and looked around my room. I glanced at the colourful patchwork quilt on my bed and the huge red styrofoam letters spelling my name on the wall above the headboard. I had a feeling this was going to be a big day – but what was it? Ah yes! Today I was going to begin Grade One.

My mom had set out my clothes the night before. I dressed in my navy polyester pants, skinny belt, and short-sleeve light blue pin striped blouse with a white collar. I went into the bathroom and brushed my straight brown bob, brushed my teeth and headed downstairs to find the table set for breakfast.

My mom and I soon headed out the door for the 10 minute walk to school. She would walk with me the first few days and then I would walk with my neighbour who was in Grade Two for a few weeks until we were all confident that I could do it on my own.

We lined up outside the school. My mom asked the girl in front of me in line what her name was, and introduced us. I knew at that moment that we would not be friends. I was right. Funny… even at that age you know if you’ll “click” with someone.

The bell rang, I gave my mom a kiss, and we marched in two rows into the school. My teacher was Jacqueline. She had a cute bear that we took turns holding during storytime on the big rug at the front of the classroom. We were given five tokens each morning which we got to keep if we spoke exclusively in French. If we were caught speaking in English, we lost a token. Every Friday, we would get to “buy” things from the prize bucket with our tokens. This was no problem for me. I had spent a year in France from the age of two and half to three and a half. French was almost my first language. I had gone to a private school for all-day Kindergarten and we spent half the day (?) in French.

But the kids in the French immersion class spoke French with interesting English accents. And I didn’t want to be too different.The year went on and my spoken French got worse…. until my exchange to France in Grade Ten (but that’s a story for another day).

First Grader

September 6th 2011: Lil D begins Grade One. He too will be in French Immersion. He went to a Montessori where he had one year of really solid core French, not French immersion. He had to be tested to get into the French Immersion program. If you didn’t read it, here’s that story.

Today he will put on the outfit we laid out for him yesterday: long navy board shorts (my choice), and a graphic navy long sleeve tee with a goalie mask on it (his choice). He will eat his breakfast, and we will take his brother to his school. We will then return home and walk the 160 m to the bus stop (I know the distance because the bus company told me exactly how far it was when I asked them to move the stop to somewhere I could see from my front window). His dad and I will watch him board the bus and we’ll wave as he drives off down the street.

And then we’ll get in the car and speed off after him. We’ll park at my aunt and uncle’s house a block from the school and we’ll rush to make sure he gets off the bus and into the right line up. We have no idea who his teacher will be, or where he needs to go. I don’t get to tell the teacher myself that he has a nut and peanut allergy – I have to trust that the school will have conveyed that information from his registration form to the teacher.

We will then watch Lil D walk bravely and blindly into his new school. He will be spoken to only in French (theoretically). He will make new friends and see old ones he knows from preschool and summer camp. Soon (as my friend Stef reminded me last night), he will be comfortable, confident and running the show again, but this morning, he is an anxious and excited boy who has no idea what to expect.

Do you remember the outfit you wore on the first day of first grade? I can pretty much remember each of my first day of school outfits. A particularly strong memory is the grey jeans with matching long grey jean vest layered over a red sweatshirt with a pharmaceutical company logo (conference giveaway billed as a present from a trip) that I wore on the first day of Grade Six.

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Style. Tags: , , , .

Back for Real and Back to Reality Quick and Dirty Treats and Sweets

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom (The Old Guard)  |  September 6, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    1979…the part you didn’t see was your Mom walking away with tears streaming down her face…..happy and sad at the same time…..nothing much has changed in over 30 years. As mothers, we teach our children to be independent, we hope we’ve achieved that goal, and then we watch proudly as their dreams unfold. Believe it or not, I think by the time children hit grade 1, most of the groundwork is done, and I know at least 2 little boys who have had a great start in life!
    🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Lynn  |  September 7, 2011 at 12:19 am

    The only first-day outfit I remember is from grade 10. I was wearing a fetching white straw hat with yellow ribbon around it – very Debbie Gibson. On the first day everyone had to report to the gym for an assembly, and I was sitting in the front row. The principal got up to give a welcome speech and announced a new dress code that included no hats ever, at any time. Then he paused meaningfully and looked at me and waited until I took off my hat.

    OH THE SHAME.

    Also I had styled my hair to go under the hat so the rest of the day had a weird bowl-shaped thing on my head.

    No wonder high school makes for such great movie fodder.

    Reply
    • 3. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  September 7, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      That is a great story Lynn… I can just picture you sitting there in the front row. How traumatic! And it has obviously left a scar.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


