Does Everything Happen for a Reason?

September 14, 2011 at 2:22 pm 2 comments

I have been contemplating educational choices for my two sons these past few weeks.

I believe in public education; I’ve always believed in public education… but then my older son got ready to go school and I started wondering if the cookie cutter approach to education would work for him. Isn’t that how it goes; you ideologically believe in something until it’s about you?

So, ideology aside, and pros and cons of private versus public education aside, I decided I need to be prepared and informed and I started checking out my options.

I went to visit one private school – gorgeous facility, excellent program but expensive and not bilingual. Then I went to visit an elementary Montessori school. The philosophy and learning style is amazing but there would be little to no peer group – not an option.

So I have an appointment booked to visit a bilingual non-profit private school. My visit is in October.

Yesterday, I was sitting in a new hair stylist’s chair, and the woman beside me started talking about her older teenaged sons. She was giving me life lessons on raising sons and then she told me that her sons went to the aforementioned school that I have an appointment to visit, and then they went to a different private school for grades 7 and 8.

She told me about the experience and gave me a very very different perspective. In a nutshell, she felt they got a similar quality education to those in public school and ultimately, the end product was probably neutral or even negative.

She had nothing negative to say about the school itself. She just wanted me to consider that there are so many aspects to a child’s education and socialization that the financial investment could be better spent in other ways to achieve my goal (which is having them develop to their full potential academically, emotionally and socially).

It was really enlightening.

I told a friend who knows my inner struggles on this matter; she said I sat beside that lady for a reason – Fate? God? Coincidence?

Whatever it was, I’m glad I got that perspective. I’m gonna work harder within the public system. But I’m still keeping my appointment to check out the other private school. If there’s anything my momma taught me, it’s to never close any doors unnecessarily.

So, any thoughts on public vs. private… or thoughts on divine intervention or fate? I’d love to hear it all.

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Parenting. Tags: , , .

Fitness Friday: Two Summer Race Recaps Fitness Friday: You Really Get to Know Someone When You Run Together

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  September 14, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    We’re doing public school and so far we are happy with it. However, I do do a lot of at-home tutoring – I make my kids practice the basics (reading and writing and math), I take them on field trips where we can talk about science/history/the natural world, they study things like chess and piano. I feel as though parental involvement is just as important as the teacher’s role, and so, it kind of doesn’t depend as much on where they go to school, as much as it does on your own emphasis on learning and its importance.

    I really like the fact that my kids go to school with a lot of friends who live on our street or in our neighbourhood. They run into their buddies at the park or the grocery store, they can have spontaneous playdates when we see them on the street. Birthday parties are local and we know all the parents because they are our neighbours. Plus, they’ve had so many caring and motivated and enthusiastic teachers, I can’t complain at all about the staff or the content.

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of the private school – I have no experience there and I’m curious what the differences are, and what decision you make.

    Reply
    • 2. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  September 16, 2011 at 1:29 pm

      Hey Lynn, I hope it works out for us like for you. I think it will be up to us to extend their basic learning (like you do). All your neighborhood arguments are exactly what we would like to see for our guys and that is on the “pro” side of the public school list. I’ll keep you posted on our October visit to the private school.

      In the meantime, in 2 weeks of public school, Lil D has had two run-ins with authority, one of which lost him a recess. And so it begins…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


