Style Tuesday: Part II

September 20, 2011 at 7:11 pm 8 comments

Part II: Lifestyle

So, ya, about that second reason not to buy investment fall/winter boots this year…

Well, as I may have written about before, Derek and I work together running an online business. We can work anywhere, from our local Starbucks or Bridgehead, to remote hotel rooms hooked up to satellite wireless internet.

Sometimes, a vacation with the kids will not be a vacation after the kids go to bed, as Derek and I pop open our laptops and power through emails and work tasks. It is nice to be your own boss and have flexibility, but it’s impossible not to take your work home (or on vacation) with you.

This year, on our trip to Maine, we realized how efficiently we worked when we were disciplined about our leisure time. During certain hours we were not allowed to work (essentially from 8:30 am to 7:30 pm) and then, during the hours we were left with we powered through the work. We prioritized well and we communicated better (i.e. not at all while the other was clearly deep into a task).

Well, with this flexibility and a pact to be disciplined about leisure, we have decided to take our children to Costa Rica for six months. The kids will go to school. We will work. We will be disciplined about leisure. Derek will learn to surf (tee hee; I’ve seen him try a couple of times), and I will improve my Spanish.

We’ve decided to take an idea by the horns and run with it. Since the first time we visited Costa Rica seven and a half years ago, Derek and I have toyed with the idea of moving there OR vacationing there OR raising our children there OR retiring there.

We’ve visited a couple more times since our first trip and our yearning to be there for an extended period of time persisted.

Ma familia sin mi a la playa: Dito, Cito, Derek, Abuela y Abuelo - walking to town along the beach (faster than the road)

We leave after Christmas and come back at the end of the school year.

We have the main plan worked out, but lots of little (and not so little) details to arrange.

There will be lots more on this to come as it all unfolds.

Oh yes, and that’s the second reason I didn’t try anything on in the shoe store. I’m trying to avoid fall/winter fashion altogether since I’ll only be in it for three months. I’m telling myself I can work with what is already in my closet. Or at least maybe I can hold out until the sales start…

I don’t know what is with me this week, but I’ve got at least two more blog posts here and one on another site, so stay tuned. Apparently I’ve got a lot to say.

Entry filed under: Costa Rican Adventure, General Ramblings On, Parenting. Tags: , , .

Style Tuesday: Footwear and Lifestyle Fitness Friday: Canada Army Run Race Recap

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mostlyfitmom  |  September 21, 2011 at 1:40 am

    Very cool! I’ve fantasized about travelling around the world with my family. Maybe one day?

    Reply
    • 2. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  September 23, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      MFM, you can totally do this one day, especially with your profession. You could find some sort of locum or something like that…

      Reply
  • 3. Lynn  |  September 21, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    WOW. That is huge! I’m impressed, and also terrified, as living in a foreign country is something I would never, ever have the guts to do. Can’t wait to hear all the details about how you are finding a place, how you are fitting in – maybe it will inspire me to venture farther afield than Ontario with the kids!

    Also, extremely curious now about what you do for a living as it sounds totally dreamy. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  September 23, 2011 at 3:29 pm

      Lynn – I’m looking forward to blogging about all the preparations; everytime I finish one task, another one gets added to the bottom of the list.
      It may sound “dreamy”, but the actual work is no dream at all and can be quite mundane and sometimes mind-numbing. The fun part is watching the business grow and figuring out what works and what doesn’t. We operate several websites, a few job search-related ones and a wholesale shopping website; 98% of our customers are in the US.

      Reply
  • 5. Lesley Slack  |  September 21, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    That is very exciting! I hope you’ll be blogging and sharing pics from Costa Rica!

    Reply
    • 6. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  September 23, 2011 at 3:26 pm

      Definitely Les! It’s gonna be a real tool to keep me connected to everyone at home.

      Reply
  • 7. Fitness Friday: Canada Army Run Race Recap « Fit for a kid  |  September 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    […] at it for real next week… Costa Rica on the horizon which means many hours in very little clothing. Eco World Content From Across The Internet. […]

    Reply
  • 8. Costa Rica 2012: A Growing To-Do List « Fit for a kid  |  October 3, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    […] months from today, we are leaving for six months in Costa Rica. The boys enjoying the beach – Jan […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


