Style Tuesday: Kid Bedroom Style

October 5, 2011 at 2:07 am 7 comments

Recently I was at my friend’s beautiful home. She just redecorated her boys’ bedrooms. One got a queen-size bed. The other got a bunk bed with double on the bottom. She kept the wall colours the same, but got them bold striped bedding and colourful rugs, and the rooms look completely transformed.

I love my kids’ rooms – they are simple, sweet and airy. But in order to keep them that way, I have one rule – they are not supposed to bring toys into their rooms – only books and cuddly stuffed animals allowed.

I want their rooms to be havens for sleep, not another playroom. Just as adults are told to keep the bedroom peaceful and distraction/clutter-free in order to maintain sleep hygiene, I think philosophy should apply to my children.

I don’t want desks, computers, televisions, or games in their rooms. I want them to do their homework where I can pretend to just be walking by but really be observing them. For that reason, they have a large desk area in the playroom, a kids’ table in the family room and a table they are welcome to work at in our home office.

All their toys are stored either in a specific cupboard in our family room or in the playroom.

Am I going overboard on this? Do your kids have toys and play areas in their rooms? If so, do they play when they’re supposed to be sleeping?

And as far as decor goes, Lil D has had the same sheets since before he was two years old, and Lil C uses the same ones as Lil D – they don’t really match his room. I like the rugs and wall colours/decor, but their bedding isn’t my favourite.

And though Lil D has a nice trundle bed, I’m thinking that I should move that to Lil C’s room (his bed is an inexpensive one from Ikea which now has a whole in it from our last move – I cover it with the duvet cover). Instead, I could get him one of those bunk beds with the double bed on the bottom and single on top. Then, if we have overnight guests, they can stay in that room, and the two boys can sleep on the trundle bed in Lil C’s room.

We don’t have a guest room and I’m tired of feeling inhospitable when I tell my guests they have to sleep on the couch or on an awkwardly-placed futon in the basement.

Another friend of mine has this bunk bed in two of her boys’ room (Pottery Barn).

She also has the bedding in the picture and it’s so cute. I would pick this bed in the same colour, but would go with different sheets.

Perhaps these would work with my simple modern style and my boys’ love of sports.

At any rate, I see a bunk bed and new sheets in their future – but it’ll have to wait till we get back next summer.

As for our room, funny I’m complaining that my child has been on the same sheets for four and half years, but we’ve got the same bedding from three homes, two beds and eight years ago…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tico Tuesday: A Change Nanny A’s Story: Putting It Together

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mostlyfitmom  |  October 5, 2011 at 2:47 am

    My kids store some toys in their rooms (the big, bulky ones and dress-up clothes that I don’t have room for in the family room), but they rarely play in their rooms. Have not had an issue with them at bedtime – at least, none relating to their toys. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Alicia  |  October 5, 2011 at 3:00 am

    No toys in E’s room – just lots of books. We gave up our spare room to use as his playroom. I was sick of the clutter in our living room. I love the colours and those sport sheets are so cute!

    Reply
    • 3. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  October 6, 2011 at 2:36 pm

      I hear you on the clutter Alicia! We have a special part of a cabinet in the family room for toys. If they don’t fit in there, they have to go to the basement playroom.

      Reply
  • 4. Lynn  |  October 5, 2011 at 10:41 am

    We have the same rules about toys in the bedroom, but it amazes me what my youngest can turn into a “toy.” All three kids have two or three tupperware boxes in their rooms (very small ones) where they keep little treasures, like ribbons from a race or special rocks from the park or the insides of Kindersurprise. Every single day my youngest is in her room dumping out her box, and little sparkly things are all over. So she does end up playing in her room more than we planned for.

    I’d love to get new stuff for the kids rooms too but it isn’t in the budget right now. Have you heard of Pinterest? It’s a site where you can create a visual page of things you are interested in. It’s great for “someday” shopping like this – create a board called “kids rooms” and whenever you come across a bed or bedding you like, just pin it. Others can see what you like and make suggestions, or you can just use it to view everything at once and remind you of what you’ve seen.

    Reply
    • 5. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  October 6, 2011 at 2:33 pm

      Yes Lynn – same issue here. They have boxes with little treasures as well, and I found a stick which was a “weapon” between the bedframe and the mattress…

      Reply
    • 6. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  October 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm

      Oh – I had heard of Pinterest, but didn’t really know the purpose. Now I get it!

      Reply
  • […] // #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: 0px; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: 0px; margin-right: auto;}.linkboxtext {font-size: 8px;line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: left;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensplitdropdown() { document.getElementById('splittablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('splitmouse').style.display = 'none'; var titleincell = document.getElementById('titleincell').value; if (titleincell == 'yes') {document.getElementById('splittitletext').style.display = 'none';} } function closesplitdropdown() { document.getElementById('splittablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('splitmouse').style.display = ''; var titleincell = document.getElementById('titleincell').value; if (titleincell == 'yes') {document.getElementById('splittitletext').style.display = '';} } Small Modern House PlansCottesloe House Modern Urban House Design Idea by Paul BurnhamWhite Apartment Design in SwedishUp and Coming Trend in Custom Homes: Two Master BedroomsOptimizing House With Bunk BedsChanging RoomsEvolution of the Master BedroomAdd A Bunk Bend And Bring A Classy, Modern Appearance To Your Kids RoomStyle Tuesday: Kid Bedroom Style […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


