Nanny A’s Story: Putting It Together

October 6, 2011 at 2:31 pm 3 comments

My Nanny Antoinette is turning ninety in a few weeks! Some of you may remember that I’m trying to document her Holocaust survival story.

Well, I’ve given myself a deadline of her birthday. I will publish a small book that will be a gift to her guests.

My deadline is three weeks away. Gotta get to work.

Below is my rough outline with links to brief bits of the story that I’ve posted here before – what do you think? Writers, come on – be critical (you can email my privately if you prefer):

  1. Introduction: How I got started
  2. Quick Facts:

-Where is she from:

-Family Members:

-Schooling:

-Childhood Home:

3. Brief History: The Russian Occupation (linked to Jewish history of Tarnopol at the beginning of twentieth century… click only if VERY interested!)

4. Brief History: The German Occupation:

5. Nanny’s work through the German Occupation:

 –the butter story

6.Into the Ghetto

 -aborted plans

-the clothing swap

7. Onto the train

-Sonia

-the stops along the way

8. The working years

-the work camp

-Farm 1

-Farm 2

9.The War Ends

-transport to France

living with Tantine (her sister)

10. A New Beginning

-meeting Buppy (my grandfather)

-moving to Canada and making a life

11. Stories of others

-What happened to each of her family members:

-the young child and the old man

-Mila

-Sonia

-Zoya

-Buppy

 12.The Present – Pics of  nanny and each of us up to my little 3-month-old niece

Entry filed under: Nanny A's Story. Tags: , , , .

Style Tuesday: Kid Bedroom Style Tico Tuesday: Speak My Language

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  October 6, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Such a fantastic idea, and a lovely gift! I’d love to hear how it turns out.

    Reply
  • 2. Jenn  |  October 7, 2011 at 11:57 am

    beautiful gift idea!!! a real treasure for her friends and family!

    Reply
  • 3. phototropicwonder  |  October 7, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    I love this idea Liis!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


