Tico Tuesday: If Not Now, When?

October 18, 2011 at 2:26 pm 9 comments

When I was two years old, my parents took me to France to live for a year while my dad did his fellowship. My mom and dad have many fond memories of this time and I also have a couple. If there were a family memory book, that year would fill a significant section.

I always imagined that when I had my only family, I would live abroad with them for a period of time. When Derek and I went on our honeymoon, we fell in love with Costa Rica, a peace-loving, warm population in a physically beautiful land with many ecological treasures and micro-climates. We visited a couple more times since then, each time envisioning ourselves living there for an extended period of time. We visited the school closest to our favourite town, we checked out some real estate, and we investigated the internet coverage.

Our children are getting older and as they get older, taking them out of their Canadian school with the intent to bring them back will become more difficult. So, as we planned a longer one month vacation for this winter with a plan to go for a year in the future, we looked at each other and said, “WHY NOT NOW?”, and really, if not now, when?

I have heard different reactions to our choice to travel, from  “How?” to “I’m jealous”, to “I don’t even like to travel out of Ontario”, to “You guys are unconventional” to “Are they asking for people?” (that last one from my paternal grandmother, imagining the call for people to cultivate the land in pioneer days).

We have arranged our lifestyle so that our work life is as flexible as possible. We have taken (very calculated) risks, made tough choices and made certain sacrifices to design this life for ourselves. It would take many many blog posts to describe this path (I’m actually considering it in a separate blog). But here we are.

There are certain things that society expects from us, and sometimes our peer group as well. I sometimes find myself embarrassed to tell people that I don’t love my day-to-day work (it’s tolerable), but that having to do it for only a couple of hours a day from just about anywhere in the world, makes it worthwhile. I also derive satisfaction from watching the business grow, setting goals, watching our ideas (mostly Derek’s) thrive or fail and working as a team, knowing that as a family, we have designed a life for ourselves via this (these) business(es).

It is common for people to define themselves by their work, but we (Derek and I) define ourselves by our lifestyle and life experiences. Our children are not obstacles to those experiences, but they are part of the reason we gather them. We truly believe their lives will be richer for it.

I often find myself apologizing for my work being below my education level and work experience. It is not what people expect from me. When I explain our business to people, I see eyes glaze over. The business is not going to change the world, and the day-to-day tasks are mundane, but the fruits of it give us the freedom to pursue our dreams… and those dreams are limitless.

Entry filed under: Costa Rican Adventure, General Ramblings On, Parenting, Travel. Tags: , , , .

Fitness Friday: High Pressure Fitness Friday: Aborted Plans

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. molly  |  October 18, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    If you don’t mind me saying so, this is your best post to date – awesome.

    Reply
  • 3. Scott Moffatt  |  October 18, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I hear you about job satisfaction, Liisa. I’m not much of a fan of my job, but it allows me to work from home and gives us the flexibility to travel and do “unconventional” things.
    And your move to Costa Rica has inspired us to consider doing something similar while our kids are young. Hope you guys have a great experience there!

    Reply
    • 4. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  October 18, 2011 at 11:55 pm

      So Scott, your family can be a case study in my ebook… that’s next year’s side project.

      Reply
      • 5. Scott Moffatt  |  October 26, 2011 at 1:47 pm

        So I guess I’d better get my butt in gear and make this happen. 🙂

  • 6. phototropicwonder  |  October 18, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Love this post–you guys have it right 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. lisakimmel  |  October 22, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I may have been the one who stated that you were “unconventional,” but I am so proud of you for this decision, and the way that you choose to live your life.

    Reply
  • 9. Tico Tuesday: November Purge « Fit for a kid  |  November 2, 2011 at 12:58 am

    […] to plan for friends/family visits Why are these lists getting longer? Since my If Not Now, When? post, four separate individuals have told me they realize from my post and our family plan, that […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


