Fitness Friday: Aborted Plans

October 22, 2011 at 12:23 am 1 comment

No… we have not aborted the move plans.

I was scheduled, well at least signed up to run the Rattle Me Bones 10k run this coming Sunday. It starts at 8:55 am.

I am scheduled to host my son’s birthday to which the guests have been invited for 11:30 am at local bowling lanes.

That gives me 155 minutes to get from the race start to greeting Lil D’s guests.

Somehow, I expected to:

  • Run my 10k (48-49 minutes)
  • Get to the car (10 minutes)
  • Get home (20 minute drive)
  • Shower and make myself host-worthy (30 minutes)
  • Drive to bowling place (15-20 minute drive after Derek and I get the two kids into the car more like 25-30 minutes)
  • Arrive early enough to greet punctual guests (10 minutes before party-time)

That plan would work if the race starts exactly on time; Derek does all the leg work in getting the boys ready and fed in the morning (as he would say “manageable”, but not necessarily fun); the  boys don’t have any last-minute pit stops or crises; I can tolerate a heightened anxiety level all morning (might make me run faster?); I leave the house with wet hair; I don’t eat post-race.

It’s not gonna happen. At least the race is a charity-organized one so I know the money is going to support the Ottawa Hospital.

This week my running was pre-10k race prep:

Running Rundown

Everything is posted in km. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 11 km run – no alarm and we slept through the start of my group run, so I out I went with my audio book (4-Hour Work Week, T. Ferriss – so much of what he writes is how we live right now; book is helping us to fine-tune our strategies)

Monday – 5 km recovery run

Wednesday – 5 km easy run

Thursday – 5 km – 1 km warm-up; 2 x 800m @4:30; 800m rest; cool-down

I was fast (for me) yesterday, having to  slow myself down on those 800s. I wish I was running on Sunday, but it will have to wait. Maybe the Cookie Run on Sat Nov 5th? Not my fav organization to support (nothing wrong with them, just not my thing) but I do like COOKIES (not really those kind of cookies… but there is “cookie” in the name of the run, so that’s good enough for me.

Plus, they have a 1.5k run for Lil D; he’s been looking forward to a race and has been asking to do a longer one than 1k.

I’ve got a hectic and fun weekend ahead: There’s Lil D’s party and all the usual kid sports PLUS I’m meeting my four month-old niece for the first time tomorrow!

Lil C is looking forward to giving her a pink Spartacat toy. It’s nice to finally have a girl baby in the family; I hope she likes ballet. I’ve registered both my boys in dance classes and they’ve each refused to finish the sessions.

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , , , .

Tico Tuesday: If Not Now, When? Happy Ninetieth Birthday Nanny

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stefanie Couture  |  October 22, 2011 at 2:22 am

    I love the fact you thought you could run a race before Lil D’s morning birthday! That’s crazy. Can’t wait to hear all about your niece…please post a picture or tell us about her in your next blog post. My Mx had a great time hangin with your Ds today…heard about it all the way home in the car.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


