Recipes Please: Dressing, Fruit Pudding, Protein Fudge, Oat Pancakes

November 7, 2011 at 11:32 pm 1 comment

When I taste something delicious in a restaurant, I want to try to figure out how to make it at home. But of course it has to be simple and I usually have to try to make it “healthier”. Derek hates when I do this.

On Friday I had dinner at Churchill’s again. I had promised that I would give it a second chance, and a neighbour’s birthday gathering was planned there – perfect opportunity.

There is nothing on the menu that I would order as is. I am veg mostly, but do occasionally eat fish and seafood when I’m out. I avoid dairy as much as possible, unless it’s butter baked into a delicious treat :).

I ended up ordering the same thing I had when I visited in the summer, the Asian Beef Salad with the beef on the side for my beefy companion (husband). The salad on its own is really delicious. It is not filling, because there is no substantial protein source, but it tastes great.

On Sunday, I had a couple of hours on my own at home and I attempted to recreate the dressing. I’m very happy with the result:

Asian Sesame Ginger Salad Dressing

3 ounces rice wine vinegar
1 tbsp soy sauce (I used half soy, half tamari)
1/2 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbsp white sesame seeds
1 tbsp fresh minced ginger

I doubled the recipe and it’s in the fridge for this week’s salads.

We had terrible service again at Churchill’s. Our table of 7 was irritated, and the poor guy across from me kept trying to get the server’s attention to order another drink. Another guy at the table said he likes the ambiance there, but everyone agreed that the food is totally mediocre and overpriced and the service is really the pits.

Unless it’s because I’m invited there for a particular occasion, it’s off my list.

During my Sunday kitchen time, I also made two other delicious and nutritious treats just for me. I am going to get the kids to try the first one, but I think the second one is too rich-tasting for their palate:

Blueberry Chia Pudding
Makes 4 servings

2 1/2 c frozen blueberries
1 tbsp Artisana coconut butter (coconut oil would probably work too, or you could leave this out)
1/3 c chia seeds (ground is better but I only had whole in the pantry)

Blend until smooth. Refrigerate in portioned containers for at least an hour, and up to a few days. A refreshing post-run treat.
Nutrition Facts
Calories per serving: 122
Carbs 5g
Protein 3g
Fat 6g

Chocolate Protein Fudge
Makes 8 1″ squares

4 Tbsp Artisana coconut butter
1 scoop Sunwarrior chocolate raw vegan protein
2 Tbsp cocoa powder (the pure unsweetened kind)
1 frozen banana

Blend all the ingredients in a blender or food processor until they are smooth and stick together. Fill an ice cube tray or mini muffin tin or similar with the mixture and freeze. It’s like eating a fudgicle with a banana undertone.

Nutrition Facts
Calories per square 77
Carbs 7g
Protein 3g
Fat 5g

And last but not least, tonight I made a new pancake recipe for dinner (Lil C’s special dinner request). It’s another oatmeal pancake, but I blended the oats into flour before I added it to the batter. I think the boys preferred the texture and they looked more like Nana’s famous pancakes (which are a fluffy and perfectly cooked pancake made with Aunt Jemima mix, milk and egg).

Blended Oatmeal Pancakes
Makes approx 12

1 c whole wheat flour
2 c oats (either quick or old-fashioned)
1 1/4 c of water
1 1/4 c of milk (recipe calls for all milk)
pinch of salt
3 egg whites
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 c coconut oil

Blend all the ingredients in the blender. Pour onto hot pan in 1/4 c portions.

I made the batter this afternoon and refrigerated it in the blender pitcher until I was ready to make the pancakes at dinner time, and it worked fine.

Nutrition Facts
Calories per pancake 148
Carbs 19g
Protein 5g
Fat 6g

So, any good recipes y’all have to share with me? I just finished the full Friday Night Lights series and have found myself with “y’all” as a new addition to my everyday lexicon.

Entry filed under: Otown, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Tico Tuesday: November Purge Tico Tuesday: Moving Through the List

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. pursuenaturalny2008  |  November 8, 2011 at 12:48 am

    Keep trying!
    I have an article on why you should make a pecan pie with no corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup. Try that and avoid getting fat and eating your “cake” too!

    Once you get your great recipe, do post it on my site or link to yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


