Fitness Friday: A Big Finish

December 2, 2011 at 8:50 am 4 comments

I bet you think I haven’t been exercising since I haven’t been writing my Fitness Friday posts. Well you would be… WRONG.

While I have not been doing a whole lot of strength training, I have been running a lot (loving it) and working in yoga and/or what I would call “strength maintenance” here and there.

I don’t know what it is, but I have really fallen in love with running. I find it relaxing, rejuvenating and exhilarating. There was a few weeks after the Army Run where I didn’t feel like doing speed work so I just did three or four longer fun runs of 12-17k throughout the week.

I’m now back to enjoying a proper training schedule on a four-week rotation. Each week includes a fun (easy) run, and a longer run. Three of the four weeks include a speed workout (with a 10-14k fun run instead on the off week) and two-three of the four weeks include a tempo run of between 5 and 10k (plus a 3 k warm-up and 3 k cool-down).

I have to thank the fabulous Sherry Carson from the Elation Centre for providing the training program to get me through the winter in Costa Rica, so I’m back in June ready to hit the National Capital’s paths training for my fall 2012 MARATHON!

I haven’t picked which one yet, but I’m leaning towards either the Toronto Harbourfront Marathon, the Niagara Falls International Marathon or the Wineglass Marathon. I am looking for flat and fast – yeah, let me emphasize FLAT. I’ll be in my fortieth year after all… I’m hoping to beat my 27-year-old self by 10 full minutes (see the time to beat here).

Anyone want to join me?

This Week’s Running Rundown

Everything is posted in km. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 17 km run – part with group and part on my own

Monday – 6.5 km fun run

Tuesday – 11.5 km speed run 3 km warm-up; 3 x 1 min fast with equal rest; 3 x 5 min fast with 4 min rest; 3 x 1 min fast with equal rest; cool-down

Friday – 5 km tempo at 5:07/km pace with 3 km warm-up and 2 km cool-down

Cross Training 

Tuesday: Yoga

Thursday: Core Workout

So, I’m gonna keep up the running through December’s craziness and this will hopefully keep me less than crazy. My goal is to complete 4-5 runs and 2 yoga/core conditioning classes or strength workouts throughout the week.

Got any December fitness goals?

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , , .

Tico Tuesday: Travel Health and Basketball Cereal MarshMallow Chocolate Chip Cookies

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mostlyfitmom  |  December 4, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    I’m still pondering my December goals. I’m currently studying up a storm (8 exams coming up) and am just so exhausted all time. I know that working out would help me feel better, but my motivation is definitely lacking these cold, very dark days of December. I’m leaning to taking up yoga for the next couple of weeks…

    Reply
    • 2. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  December 5, 2011 at 2:26 pm

      I think yoga would be an awesome way to stay sane and focused during this busy busy month.

      Reply
  • 3. Katie Squires  |  December 14, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    WOWSERS!!! your kicking butt! 17km!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


