Fundraising for School Yards

December 15, 2011 at 4:28 pm 2 comments

I spend a significant amount of time in coffee shops. If you worked at home with your husband, you might too.

On each local coffee shop bulletin board I see flyers for local public elementary school fundraising initiatives for school yards (right now I see three in my area including Lil D’s school and just saw a tweet for another Otown public school).

So far the fundraising goals I have seen are all 100K plus. Lil D’s school needs $250K for the current phase of the project. The school yard needs renewal. In fact, the whole school badly needs renewal, but let’s just talk school yard.

There are just under 800 students at his school. That is a fundraising goal of $312.50 for each student, FOR THIS PHASE. The government is going to kick in $7,500 or 3% of the total. We know that not each family has the means or the willingness to participate so the burden falls to the few and the community.

This is a public school.

We wrote a cheque. Not for $312.50, but we wrote a cheque. The yard needs renewal.

Local businesses are being solicited but there is some controversy over how they prominent the logos will be displayed in the yard – you know, public/private partnership controversy. And are businesses to bear the burden of all the school yards in the local community?

I find this whole thing so wrong.

Am I the only one who considers the yard part of the school and thus the responsibility of the school board and Ministry?

I apologize for the brain dump, but I wanted to put this out there. Here is a link to an article about the initiative at Lil D’s school.

Thoughts?

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Otown. Tags: .

Tico Thursday: What I Want to Know about Living in Costa Rica Fitness Friday: Plant-based Whole Foods Diet

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  December 15, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    It definitely is kind of sad that there is no money in the school budgets for basic things like books and furniture, let alone building and yard upkeep. I spent two years on my school’s PTA and we raised a good amount of money each year, but it all went to things that were needed in the classroom today, and/or field trip expenses.

    It definitely should be the board’s responsibility, but yikes, that would take a huge bump in their budgets which I’m sure the government is not going to provide. It’s a problem with no good solutions…

    Reply
    • 2. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  December 17, 2011 at 1:25 am

      Yes it’s a problem Lynn. I am new to this, but it seems public schools get a significant portion of their budget from the fundraising done by the current parents at the school. I don’t think this was the initial mandate of parent councils. I honestly don’t get it.

      I also don’t understand why suburban schools take precedence over old, paint-peeling, asbestos-laden, basement classroom, portable-riddled schools and school yards inside the Greenbelt.

      I have a lot to learn apparently.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


