Fitness Friday: Plant-based Whole Foods Diet

December 17, 2011 at 12:21 am 10 comments

I’ve gradually changed my eating habits over the last 6 months. I’ve mentioned before that I’m a long-time vegetarian who occasionally eats fish. As long as I can remember, I have had no taste for meat. In 2000 I stopped eating it outright.

Too much ice cream or cheesy pizza never agreed with me (except my taste buds).

This past year, I noticed how much better I’ve felt when I don’t eat milk products at all.

I’ve also started incorporating tons more vegetables and leafy greens into my diet.

With much education and reading, I would say that I’m now a mostly-plant-based whole foods eater (the mostly being home-made cookies and other delicious baked treats).

Here are some things I’ve learned over the last few months:

  1. I can maintain my energy level on much less food. I do have to monitor calories on long run days because otherwise the next day I will be ravenous!!!!
  2. Milk products are out for me for the long haul. I have eliminated even hidden dairy and it made a huge difference. It’s not life-altering in the short-term, so if someone offers me something and can’t guarantee there are no whey ingredients, I won’t immediately turn it down, but I am so aware now.
  3. I love coffee and it does not make that much of a difference to me so it is worth it.
  4. I love wilted kale salad with sesame seeds and a sesame oil, cider vinegar dressing.
  5. All plant foods in their whole form are made up of 10% protein.
  6. Sunwarrior protein is my favourite protein boost.

Here is a great resource for plant-based whole food recipes or education programs on this type of eating. Here is a great resource for fueling your training on a plant-based diet.

Though I do like animals and I personally do not like the idea of eating them, I am not a veg for ethical reasons. I don’t identify with the dogmatic vegan (read PETA) movement that often eats just as many processed foods as any other typical eater.

This is really about my personal decision to improve my well-being.

My family still eats meat and dairy, but hopefully more fruits and vegetables as a result of my influence. We don’t eat the same food but we eat together. I have read that kids eat what they know. Hopefully having seen, smelled and (sometimes) tasted almost every vegetable variety in the produce aisle will mean that at some point, they will know them too.

This Week’s Running Rundown

Everything is posted in km. For those of you who only do miles, 1 km = .625 mile OR 1 mile = 1.6 km

Saturday – 17 km run – part with group and part on my own

Monday –8 km fun run on the treadmill

Tuesday – 10 km tempo run on the treadmill in the evening; might not have run if I didn’t have the gym membership

Thursday – 12 km run

Cross Training 

Wednesday: Hips focused vinyasa yoga

I’ve got 5 classes left in my yoga class package and 9 days till I leave the country for 6 months. That’s a lot of yoga to fit in.

I hear my family coming in from soccer practice. It is loud and there is whining.

Enjoy the last weekend before Christmas/Hannukah!

Entry filed under: Fitness, nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

Fundraising for School Yards Tico Tuesday: Vegetarian Dream

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  December 17, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    We’re doing a diet overhaul here, too, due to a few new allergies. I’m always on the lookout for awesome veggie recipes that don’t contain milk or eggs. So please feel free to share when you find something good!

    Reply
    • 2. 17 Day Diet  |  December 30, 2011 at 3:49 am

      Hi Lynn, I started the 17 day diet a few days ago. Feel a lot better even after Xmas … you know the heavy eating and lack of exercise… may be you can give it a try too.

      Reply
  • 3. Ingredients for Life  |  December 19, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    A must read is The Thrive Diet. You’ll never go wrong eating more plants, especially greens.

    Reply
    • 4. Donna  |  December 20, 2011 at 8:58 pm

      I agree the Thrive Diet is a great book and Brendan Brazier also has a new book out called Whole Foods to Thrive, I think it’s even better

      Reply
      • 5. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  December 21, 2011 at 1:41 pm

        Well I have the Thrive Diet. I’ll have to check out the newer one. Thanks ladies!

  • 6. Ted  |  December 21, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Hey friend I enjoyed with what you are saying here.

    Reply
  • 7. Finola  |  December 27, 2011 at 12:42 am

    I really need to get more fruits and veggies into my diet. And for me I would love to cut back on carbs. I might just pick up that book recommended above.
    And it was nice to see you briefly at breakfast a couple of weeks ago!

    Reply
    • 8. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  December 28, 2011 at 3:31 am

      Nice seeing you too Finola. Yes, I’m going to try to get the whole foods one too…

      Reply
  • 9. Jackie  |  December 28, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    I agree with removing dairy products in one’s diet. Most of the world (ie. not in North America) don’t drink milk products. I think we all have a bit of intolerance to it, and will probably improve overall health. Too bad I haven’t figured out how to eliminate it completely from my diet but its a goal.

    Reply
    • 10. Liisa at Fit for a Kid  |  December 29, 2011 at 1:19 pm

      Jackie – in N. America, I find it very hard to completely eliminate – if I consume traces from cheese removed from a restaurant meal or in a baked good, I’m okay with that. But less is still more!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


