New – and Possibly Favourite – Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe with Exclusively Brown Sugar

January 27, 2011 at 12:00 pm 7 comments

These cookies are good. So good I couldn’t stop myself from eating and eating. And eating and eating.

These cookies are so good that they don’t even need the chocolate chips. Derek requested them without the add-ins cause the dough itself is so tasty.

The minute I read this recipe on Baking Bites, I knew it was my type of cookie:

  • It uses only brown sugar. I love the caramel flavour of brown sugar and often replace white sugar with brown.
  • It calls for a full teaspoon of kosher or sea salt. Yum – sweet and salty.
  • It does not call for nuts. We don’t do nuts at home.
  • The picture made my mouth water.

Original photo from Bakingbites.com; no point in taking a picture of mine. This one is so beautiful.

So I made the cookies. And we ate.

The only change I made was Fleur de Sel instead of kosher salt.

I will make them again with less chocolate. The cookie itself is so good it really doesn’t need so much chocolate (I have never written that before).

Here’s a copy of the recipe:

Brown Sugar Chocolate Chunk Cookies
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt (pref. kosher salt) – Ffak: I used Fleur de Sel
14 tbsp butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 large egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups dark or semisweet chocolate chunks – I used semisweet large chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt.
In a large bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar until smooth and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla extract. With the mixer on low, gradually blend in the flour mixture until no streaks of dry ingredients remain visible. Stir in chocolate chunks.
Shape dough into balls just over 1-inch in diameter. Place on prepared baking sheet, allowing for room to spread.
Bake for 12-14 minutes, until cookies are very lightly browned around the edges. Cookies may look slightly “wet” – but not raw – at the center (bake until golden all over for crispier cookies).
Cool for 3-4 minutes on baking sheets, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

Makes 2 1/2 – 3 dozen cookies  FfaK: I got 4 dozen so they must have been slightly smaller.

Another gorgeous shot from BakingBites.Com

 

 

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Vaccine Overdose: What the Reaction Means (or Finding the Silver Lining) Fitness Friday: Request for Input on Exercise-Induced Asthma in Kids and Treadmill Running

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie Drury  |  January 27, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    We are overdue for chocolate chip cookies. I’m trying this recipe today. You got me with the ‘sea salt’ as a ingredient. Mmmmm…salty and sweet!

    Reply
  • 2. Alicia  |  January 27, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Oh yum! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 3. Jenn Beyak  |  January 27, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    They sound and look delicious! I will try these out…I too love the combo of sweet and salty!

    Reply
  • 4. fitforakid  |  January 27, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    If you try them, let me know what you think. I’m not feeling well today, but looking at this post is actually making my appetite come back a bit…

    Reply
  • 5. Rose Silver  |  February 1, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Yummy! I miss eating chocolate chip cookies with a glass of milk. I should make some of your cookies and eat with my kids.

    Reply
  • 6. Melanie Schoenhut  |  February 2, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    This is so indulging especially when I saw that it is match with a glass of milk. I miss being a kids that my grandmother used to give us cookies with a glass of milk. I will make some of this for my kids.

    Reply
  • […] Sunday I’ve been on a bit of a sweet baking kick. I’ve made Brown Sugar Chocolate Chip Cookies, Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, and this new recipe from Brown-Eyed Baker. My thoughts and […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 368 other subscribers