Style Tuesday (on Wednesday): Running Skirts – Do or Don’t

April 13, 2011 at 3:36 pm 11 comments

My friend and running buddy Jenn excitedly showed me her new running skirt at school pick-up one day recently. She had just picked it up. She pointed out all the features and then told me how flattering it was. This is the one she got (with a cute little black ruffle on the back):

Pace Setter Skirt in Black

Easily persuaded, I decided to try one out.

I bought this:

Lululemon Jog Skirt II

Usually I’m a size 4 but in this, I bought a size 6. The shorts underneath are snug. The waistband is loose. I am looking forward to trying it out on a run. I first need to do a couple of laps of our main floor with the tags on to see if it’s worth taking off the tags.

But I’m still not sure about the running skirt…

Is it a do or a don’t?

In my run on Sunday, there was a woman wearing a ridiculous running outfit with way too much going on. It included a running skirt, coordinating capris underneath, a patterned (matching) tank, armsleeves, and a hat. I thought to myself… oh, those are the people who wear running skirts. But really, maybe not. I could say the same thing about the sleeves, or the capris or the tank.

Anyway, I need opinions – let’s call it an informal poll of sorts (until I figure out how to embed a proper poll in my post) – are running skirts a do or a don’t? The cute group of fashionable women sitting beside me at Bridgehead say they are definitely a do (and they’re great for tennis too).

So, now I need to hear from you all… don’t be shy.

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fitness, Style. Tags: , , .

Race Recap: Minto Run for Reach 10k The French Immersion Test – A Report

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  April 13, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I have to say, I personally do not have the legs to carry that off. I’m blushing just THINKING about it.

    But if you’ve got the gams…I say go for it. I think they are adorable.

    Reply
  • 2. Jenn B  |  April 13, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    I think you will look great in your skirt Liisa! Despite the outcome of this survey, I will proudly wear my new running skirt.

    Reply
  • 3. Stefanie Couture  |  April 13, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I say it’s a DO. They are totally cute. Now I wouldn’t wear one with matching capris, hat, etc. 🙂 My vote says wear it with confidence…I’m sure you look great in it…right Jenn!

    Reply
  • 4. fitforakid  |  April 14, 2011 at 12:56 am

    Okay – so far looking like a “DO”… anyone else?

    Reply
  • 5. Alicia  |  April 14, 2011 at 1:53 am

    I like it. Looks very much like my golf skorts. Work it girl.

    Reply
  • 6. Finola  |  April 14, 2011 at 2:18 am

    Totally love it and I want one now too!!

    Reply
  • 7. Delanie  |  April 14, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    It’s a do for sure! I’m a big fan of the skirts from lululemon. The only downside for me is that they are not really multipurpose and I only use them for running. Wearing a running skirt to the gym do to a weight workout can be very awkward. ;O) I have 3 different styles from over the years and they are all great.

    Reply
  • 8. fitforakid  |  April 14, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Wow! I guess I have been missing out. Too bad it’s just a little chillly to try it out today… soon, very soon I hope.

    Reply
  • 9. Molly  |  April 15, 2011 at 12:48 am

    I’m a little iffy on the run skirt for myself – but I do think think they are super cute. Go for it.

    But I might skip the arm warmers and matching capris. 😉

    Reply
  • 10. Fitness Friday: A Blog Holiday « Fit for a kid  |  April 22, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    […] tested out my running skirt in sunny HOT Florida yesterday (yes, that’s part of why I’ve taken a blog holiday, an […]

    Reply
  • […] Half-Marathon Outfit. I need to decide what to wear. I’m going to do a dress-rehearsal of my running skirt and a long tank top on Saturday. If that works for comfort, I’m gonna get you blog readers to […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 368 other subscribers